David Dowdall's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Financial Analyst
  • Business and Sociology Degree in Trinity College Dublin
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoying the outdoors lifestyle in BC, Canada and any other opportunities that arise along the way.

ABOUT ME

I've a positive, upbeat outlook on life. I love trying new things and a bit of adventure can never go astray. Meeting new people with different outlooks is always great because I think it's one of the best ways to learn!

PHILOSOPHY

There's no point worrying about the what ifs, just get out there and do it

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've enjoyed the benefits of the couchsurfing community when travelling during the last few years. I attend meet ups and try to give and get advice from the community. Whilst living in Lille, France, I hosted a few times, but haven't had the opportunity to do so since.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Well the best experience up to date has to be up in the high hills of Darjeeling where our host was most generous to give us a room with an incredible view of the city.

Interests

Juggling, Guitar, Films, Culture, Books, Language, Hiking, Cooking, Meeting New People, Graphics

  • culture
  • books
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • guitar
  • fishing
  • teaching
  • study abroad
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Moon, Spirited Away, Les Petits Mouchoirs, Seven, Fight Club, Garden State

I love all sorts of music but here are some favourites - Friendly Fires, Laura Marling, Bon Iver, Chad Vangaalen, Dusty Kid, The National, Digitalism, Biffy Clyro, Explosions In The Sky, Bloc Party, The Streets

The Dark Night Returns, Watchmen, Maus, The Hobbit, Shantaram

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I taught English in a fishing village in South East Kolkata for a two and a half months. The craziest part was probably being left to look after 146 children for 1 hour and 15 minutes while all the teachers went to a festival... Not the easiest when you only have a small bit of Bengali.
Inter-railed around Europe with my friends. At one stage we went canyoning in Slovenia and descended a 50m waterfall which was a big deal for me! Not the best with heights...

Teach, Learn, Share

I've thought a fair few friends juggling at this stage so I can help should you want to learn.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, India, Ireland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!