David John Blair's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 212 references 169 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Artist/Band Manager & Music Promoter
  • College and University of Glasgow.
  • From Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION:

I believe Couchsurfing to be a great way to practice altruism, meet new people and welcome the world into my home and country. We are all sharing our existence on Earth and I believe we should all help one another whenever we can.

ABOUT ME:

I work as Live Music Marketing Manager for the Glasgow city centre based live music venue and nightclub Room 2 and we also have Glasgow's best small nightclub, La Cheetah Club, in our group. I am also an artist and band manager with my 23 Music Management company and I promote gigs with my 23 Promotions company. I can introduce you to Glasgow's amazing live music and clubbing scene which I believe is the best in the world. I may be biased but we do have UNESCO City of Music international recognition. We were the first City in the UK to receive the accolade.

I love Mother Nature (I "met" Pachamama during an ayahuasca ceremony with Quechuan shamans in the Sacred Valley in the foothills of the Peruvian Andes - a story for another time) and I do my bit through my activist work for Greenpeace and the Scottish Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament. I have a strong belief in environmental and social justice, global peace and the abolition of nuclear weapons.

I used to teach English and PE in Costa Rica and I would like to carry on learning Spanish until I am fluent. Estoy aprendiendo poco a poco. I love exploring the world, learning about new cultures, meeting new people and making positive connections wherever I go.

TRANSPORTATION ACCESS:

I live in Chryston which is a wee village 9 miles/14 km from the city centre in the north-eastern outskirt suburbs of Greater Glasgow (the fourth biggest city in the UK - approximately 1,057,600 population). There are regular buses running from Buchanan Bus Station (in the city centre) which will take you there in 18-30 minutes (depending on which one you take). Stepps train station is 2 miles/3 km from my home and goes to Queen Street Station (in Glasgow city centre) in 20 minutes. I drive and can help out with travel plans when possible.

PHILOSOPHY:

Don't wait for people to be friendly, show them how.

I am looking to host fun, positive, polite and respectful people. If you are tidy and clean up after yourself you are welcome in my home.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mostly hosting.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My story with Couchsurfing began when I stayed with a Peruvian family in Lima, Peru in December/January 2014/15. It was a wonderful experience and that encouraged me to open my home to Couchsurfers when I returned. Since then I have had over 600 Couchsurfers stay with me since February 2015. Amazing experiences and beautiful people. I even hosted nine Couchsurfers (from Canada, Uruguay and Argentina) in one night! That was an unplanned one-off to help out in an emergency and a funny story I can share with you. I am looking forward to welcoming more 'friends I haven't met yet' into my home and being a great ambassador for Scotland and our Glasgow music scene.

Interests

Meeting new people, culture, cuisine, going to gigs, nightclubs and festivals, dancing and having fun!

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite band are The Beatles. My favourite movie is 2001: A Space Odyssey and my favourite director is Stanley Kubrick. My favourite work of fiction is Lord of the Rings.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saved a toddler from being hit by a car.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am always open to learning something from everyone and every situation. I am qualified to teach English as a foreign language so I can help you improve your English. Albeit in a Scottish accent ha!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendly company, English lessons and I would like to take everyone who hosts me out for dinner.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Cambodia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see David John’s full profile.

My Groups