Darren Campbell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Darren’s full profile.

Overview

  • 32 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Sign Language - BSL, AUSLAN, NZS
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Sign Language Interpreter / Youth Worker / Disabled Carer...
  • Sociology Degree and Post Graduate Diplomas both Interpre...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am a very open and honest person, and I enjoy sharing who I am with the world. I love meeting new people and learning about their culture. My current line of work here in the UK is in education, as a sign language interpreter. When I lived overseas in Australia and New Zealand, I worked in child protection, youth work and mental health / disability support.

I was a long term traveller / vagabond for 5 years from 2011 - 2016. I've travelled extensively across Asia, South America and Africa plus done a few voluntary projects. I did two years Working Holiday Visa in Australia (Alice Springs and Bundaberg) and I also lived in Christchurch, New Zealand for a year.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that my purpose in life is to help as many people as I can and do my bit. I have volunteered at an orphanage in Nepal, looked after sick pandas in China, worked with disabled Aboriginal kids in Australia and volunteered in the slums of Uganda.

Life is about all of us uniting together to create a better world. I believe that a universal shift in consciousness is slowly underway that will move us towards a better society. Couchsurfing being a good example of this!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I host: I do so in the hope to meet interesting new people, share a connection and hang out with them (work schedule dependent).

When I surf: I am courteous and polite, always clean up after myself and enjoy cooking a meal as a thank you (plus wash the dishes!). More than happy to have some drinks / stay in / go out ...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've travelled with fellow couch surfers in South Korea, Fiji and Indonesia. I have surfed in Malaysia and when I first got to New Zealand. Plus I have hosted a whole bunch of people in Christchurch which was heaps of fun and I met some beautiful people :D

I am currently hosting at my home, just outside Birmingham.

Interests

My passion is the great outdoors and I love to hike and mountain climb, camp out and keep active :) Also love the beach, dance music, festivals, nights out on the town as well as chilled nights in or sat in front of a fire. I enjoy having a few drinks and group cooks / dinners together.

I am also happy just walking around new places, taking in the atmosphere and culture. As well as generally hanging out, sharing stories and putting the world to rights ;) Such as; philosophies, conspiracies, science, religion, sociology, psychology etc.

I am interested in Buddhism, Yoga and Meditation. And recently tattoos, just love them, its so addictive.

  • culture
  • tattoos
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • walking
  • drinking
  • eating out
  • music
  • dance music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • buddhist
  • rock climbing
  • psychology
  • religion
  • science
  • sign language
  • sociology
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: The Alchemist, Mindfulness, The Road Less Travelled, Vagabonding, The Beach, Eat Pray Love, The Power Of Now, Holding The Man ...

Music: Hard Dance, Techno, Funky House, Dub Step, Pop, Indie / Light Rock, Chillout ...

Movies: The Butterfly Effect, American Beauty, Artificial Intelligence, Muriel's Wedding, Drop Dead Fred, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Hunger Games.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Achieving MY BIG THREE:
1. Climbing Kilimanjaro
2. Trekking to Everest Base Camp
3. Completing the Inca Trail (Machu Picchu).

Teach, Learn, Share

I have worked with an array of different disabilities; with Deafness and DeafBlind being my area of expertise. I am happy to share my knowledge with anyone who is interested and teach you Sign Language / DeafBlind Hands On.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hopefully a unique experience, someone cool to hang out with and a nice home to stay in.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Martinique, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Darren’s full profile.