David Barberena's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

Overview

  • 88 references 74 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 63, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Retired
  • Bachelors Degree in Social Work
  • From Fort Worth, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My place is rented out to a friend while I help out my father.
To travel, make new friends, see and experience more of the US and the World. I'd like to travel backpacking more worldwide. I love talking to others who have been to places I haven't been.

ABOUT ME
I have rented my condo out to a couch surfer I met whose from India. I'm an easy going guy and travel very light (usually with a backpack). I have been to all 50 states in the US and 22 foreign countries. I have also been to 30 national parks. I am a people and an outdoors person, I love living in Austin with so much to do. I also love traveling and spending time camping, hiking and riding my bike or my motorcycle. I'm looking for a possible second home in another state or country to live part of the year.

PHILOSOPHY

I am fortunate in that I get to enjoy life and get to do some traveling. I am charting my course with a great attitude and a sense for adventure. I live a very simple and modest lifestyle and enjoy meeting others. I like the idea of sharing and passing on the friendship and kindness to someone else someway/somehow : ).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like to travel and I enjoy meeting people from different countries, experienceing local culture and food. I like to host and share my love of so much to do in and around Austin, especially in good weather.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Awesome experiences so far, both as a guest and a host. In 2018 I stayed with 15 hosts in 9 countries on a two month back packing trip through Europe.

On on a 16 day backpacking trip in norteast US I participated with my host in his homeless ministry.

One couch surfing experience went so well they asked me to stay another night and then the host went traveling with me down to Key West for a few days.

I had a really fun experience visiting with surfers in Boston, Mexico City, Germany and Austria who had stayed with me.

I've had an awesome experience hosting and visiting so many people from different countries and backgrounds.

Interests

I like to hike and experience nature; eat at local restaurants, see live music and experience the culture of wherever I go.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like local live music but will listen to most anything. I like comedy, drama, independent, foreign and sci fy movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On a trip to Sedona I rock climbed at Boyton Canyon Vortex to a spot where I could sit on a cliff and have an amazing view.

Also awesome hiking Mount Marathon in Seward, Alaska. Sliding down on my ass through the snow like it was an amusement ride was so cool!

November 2021, a week in Thailand riding a motorcycle on the Mae Hong Son Loop, so much fun!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm just very casual when it comes to conversation. I enjoy sharing lifes story and the twists and turns therein.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A love for travel and a sense of adventure. I have many types of travel experiences and enjoy hearing stories from others. I'm willing to help out, really whatever works for my host. Always happy to treat my host to a meal out.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.