Logo orange

Emily Haydon

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Creole, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Currently in limbo
  • No education listed
  • From Melbourne, Australia
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see the world and meet some of it's inhabitants!

ABOUT ME

I'm me. easy to talk to, love a laugh with an old friend, and with new ones!
Love meeting new people and gradually discovering more and more about our planet
For the last 4 years I've lived mostly away from Australia, first on Réunion island for nearly 2 years, and now in France. I love meeting new people who challenge the way I look at the world.
I love learning new skills and facts on all subjects.
I love setting off for a few days into the wilderness with everything I need on my back and no hint of civilisation.
I like to try and live my life in a way that has a minimal impact on the planet, but maximum positive vibrations!

PHILOSOPHY

Listen.
Question everything you read.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I had the wonderful opportunity to host lots of surfers when I was living in Melbourne in 2012. Now studying in Paris it's pretty difficult to host for the moment but I still love meeting other travellers and people who cross my path in life.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been on many couches and had many people on mine. It's great to be able to expand my community and meet new people through couchsurfing! Now that I'm abroad it's great to have that network to be able to avoid the horribleness that is the tourism industry, and be able to see a country and it's people, not just its monuments.

Interests

I love meeting new people and learning about their culture and language. i have a particular passion for languages which was realised when I learned french. I learned a little Spanish which I hope to continue!
Now I appreciate much more the effort and patience it takes both to learn a language and live with someone trying to learn one. Somewhere along the way I've also become a language teacher which was completely by accident but I'm starting to really love it.
I also love music, reading, tea, a nice red and great conversation (Sometimes even all at once)
I also really love cooking. Let me cook for you, or let's share some ideas!

Music, Movies & Books

Love live music - local bands in pubs as well as big concerts (though finding the funds for big concerts these days is increasingly difficult!I prefer local stuff now!)
Currently these people make me happy if I'm having a bad day: Bob Marley, Neil Young, Kaya and the Black Keys.
If I were to write a list of all the artists I listen to I'd out miss too many.
I read a lot.
Last year I discovered a bunch of russian literature and am a fan. I read whatever I can get my hands on. I'm currently reading about the history of the independence of India (and Ghandi), a pretty hideous chain of events really.
I dont always read about bloody revolutions but I have been doing it a lot lately in the last 12 months...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Whale watching alone on a cliff in the sun with a picnic. Theres nothing quite like sharing your lunch with jumping humpback whales.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to help anyone with their English or French!
I also love learning bits and pieces from other languages and am currently starting to learn Spanish.
I'm also always happy to share and exchange cooking ideas!

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, Germany, India, Madagascar, Mauritius, Morocco, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, France, Réunion

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile