Dean Langan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dean’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • University teacher
  • PhD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi I'm Dean.

I work as a teacher at a university in London, and live near to Hampstead. I'm new to couch surfing - I signed up a couple of years ago just for a quick look out of interest, but now I'm ready to make use of the site and meet some lovely people.

I guess its really appropriate to talk here about the traveling I've done in the past. Naturally, coming from England, I've made the most of the many other European countries on my doorstep - Spain, France (via eurostar) and Poland stick out as my favourites. Basically I like to visit anytime I have a free long weekend, it makes sense to get a cheap flight so some other European city I've never visited before.

I'm also really into cycle touring - I've done this for the last few holidays. its a really god way to get to know a place and end up in random towns with no other tourists. Makes a change going on holiday and coming back having lost weight. I've cycled from London to Paris, Malaga to Barcelona in Spain and around Holland, france and belgium.

I've also backpacked in South America for 7 months (from Argentina to Colombia), so I know that continent very well too.

Aside from traveling stuff, I'm becoming obsessed with yoga (despite me not being naturally bendy) and indoor climbing (despite not having great finger strength).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm not completely new to the backpacking world, but I've always relied on hostels. I've heard so much about couch surfing from friends, so now it's time to give it a try. I'd be more than happy to host nice friendly people in London. In return, I''ll be traveling in Japan in July and looking for some nice people to show me around.

Interests

  • books
  • cooking
  • mexican food
  • yoga
  • running
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • film
  • cycle touring

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - Intouchables (all time favourite), the immitation game, American history X and City of God.
TV shows - South Park, Rick and morty
Books - anything sciency

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Trekking in the amazon rain forest - I've never been to a zoo since.
I cycled from one side of Spain to the other.
I cycled 180km overnight from London to the coast while lit up like a Christmas tree in time for the sunrise (google Dunwich Dynamo, I promise I'm not mental)

Teach, Learn, Share

Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle and life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England

Join Couchsurfing to see Dean’s full profile. It’s free!