Deb Metcalf's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Deb’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, German, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student, and work on campus
  • BA in Cross-Cultural Studies
  • From Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 23 year old, and just moved to Denver, CO to start a Master's program in Social Justice and Ethics. I love exploring, meeting new people, learning about culture and history. I am learning to play the ukulele. I am very friendly and have a big smile :D Life is an adventure if you make it, no matter how big or small!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to travel the world cheaply and "authentically." I want to meet real people of the places I visit and have the travel experiences of "locals" rather than "tourists." I want to meet new people, and see new places and to learn about them.

I have done some unofficial couch surfing through my Ballroom dance team in college, and my university orchestra. When my groups traveled for performances or competitions, we often stayed on peoples floors and couches that maybe someone else on the team knew, but I did not. I had many good experiences with this. It allowed me to meet parents or family friends of team or orchestra members, other ballroom dancers from other schools who I could then cheer on at the competitions, and alumni of my university. I also hosted ballroom dancers several times when our school was hosting a competition. Most of the time they got in really late, but I got to chat with them, learn about where they were from and why they danced, make sure they were comfortable and knew where they bathroom was and had a chance to get food if they needed. Then we would get up early in the morning to head to the competition. I might see them at other competitions, and then know a friendly face from when I hosted!

Interests

I love people, culture, history, and different religions. I also love music of all kinds. My dreams include exploring the world making new friends everywhere I go and learning about new places from the perspective of the people there.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • surfing
  • cultural studies
  • history
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all kinds of music, except I'm not a huge fan of most country music. I really like folk and anti-folk music, as well as music that tells a story. Some of my favorite musicians include Noah and the Whale, Paperkites, Kate Nash and Ingrid Michaelson. I am always down for exploring new music styles and tastes! My favorite books are often historical fiction. I really enjoyed "A Farewell to Arms" and "To Kill a Mockingbird." Favorite movies include "Forrest Gump" and "The Proposal." I also enjoy documentaries and international films.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I worked on a Native American Reservation during my spring break this last year and I learned so much about their culture and lifestyle as well as about construction work. I learned how to repair holes in walls, paint trim and edges without taping them, and how to peel up old linoleum and replace it by laying new linoleum tiles! I also learned a lot about the Lakota culture including how to put up a tipi, traditional Lakota games like throwing an "adl-adl" and game with a stick and hoops where you throw the hoops in the air and try to catch them all with the stick before they fall to the ground.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn, teach and share. I can help people improve their english language skills, teach new recipes, and share a love of good conversation, good wine and good music. I am not an expert at anything, but am an avid learner and recognize what I have to teach may also be areas I can learn something from someone else. I am a bit of a Jack of all Trades and have widespread interest in lots of areas, and some skill in many areas as well.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation especially about people, culture, history, and religion. Also, I can cook and enjoy cooking, would be happy to share a meal with a host. Additionally, I may be able to play my ukulele for entertainment if I bring it along and brush up a bit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Germany, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palestine

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Deb’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups