Denise Dent's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Denise’s full profile.


  • 23 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 65, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • ex-teacher, currently a writer and semi-retiree
  • Postgrad
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Getting to grips with retirement and all it offers.


I moved to New Zealand in 2009 and settled in North Canterbury for a while before moving down to Otago . It's very beautiful there and I love the open spaces and the beautiful river and coastline. I am a writer and a musician and like to meet new people and have interesting conversations. I do a bit of work for an online course developer and occasionally for a local Community Foundation.


It's the journey that counts. The poem Desiderata kind of sums up how I see life and the values I try to live by.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted many times and sometimes surfers become good friends, which is great.


I have hosted more than surfed and have met some lovely people since I joined. I like people who have interesting perspectives on life and it's fascinating learning about them, a real mind opener. It's also good when guests cook and I learn new recipes. Sometimes surfers have shared music too, which is very special. All of my experiences have been positive so far - I'm a fan of the whole concept.


I write plays, songs and short stories and I have also written a book about the families of the Kaitangata Mining disaster of 1879. I have been involved in local theatre for a few years now in Clutha, onstage and off. I also knit and sew and usually have a project on the go.

I've just moved to Tapanui so am spending time creating a garden and getting to know the community.

Politically, I lean left, believing that we must work together for the good of all. I think we have a responsibility to others and to the planet. I am a humanist but also believe we are more than just the sum of our parts.

Music, Movies, and Books

I read less than I used to but do like audiobooks as I can listen while I'm doing other things. I find as I get older, my tastes have changed and I look for kindness in what I engage with. I do still love LOTR however, and Stephen Fry reading Sherlock Holmes or PG Wodehouse is my go-to at bedtime!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Played the drums with the Paramount Chief's drummers at his palace in Obo, Ghana.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always interested in learning new things.
Skills I can share would include guitar, singing, wool craft, sewing, writing.....

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, conversation, cooking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Denise’s full profile.