David Nys's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 26, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • Fulltime writer
  • Journalist
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**PLEASE NOTE, DUE TO THE HIGH AMOUNT OF MESSAGES I GET ON HERE, I HAVE DECIDED TO ONLY HOST SPECIFIC PEOPLE. SEE 'MY HOME FOR MORE INFORMATION **

Hi there. The name is David, 26 and genderqueer (they/them pronouns), originally from Belgium, now settled 200 km to the north. I work as a creative writer in Amsterdam and am trying (unsuccessfully atm) to finish one of my many literature projects.

Travel is, besides writing, my greatest passion. Basically, traveling for me is all about connecting to people, learn about local customs, get to know interesting places, make friends for life, all that good stuff.

I have very strong opinions. While I do love a good debate, I mostly find myself drawn to people who are feminist, vegan, anarchist, queer, etc. Like myself. My views on sexuality/love/gender, politics and ecology are very progressive and I have been called a dirty hippie before.

I am someone who values his privacy and can be a bit of a lone wolf (hence why I often travel alone), and I can be perfectly happy spending a day exploring by myself. At the same time, I am fascinated by interpersonal dynamics and love meeting new people. I believe our views of relationships and friendship are way too rigid, and that people can come together in engaging ways if they keep an open mind. I am probably the most sociable loner you have ever met. If I start monologuing, feel free to stop me.

I eat vegetarian and vegan food, but I don't make a fuzz when other people eat meat around me. If you want to cook for me, feel free to put me to work. I love helping out, not only in the kitchen.

My Dutch and English is native level, while I understand French and German very well but cannot talk on a conversational level. I would love to practice those two languages, as well as learn some Spanish. If you speak any of those three, please teach me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In the past I have had great experiences staying with hosts while travelling. They were mostly friends of friends and people I met through other platforms, who were happy to let me stay at their place. Couchsurfing got recommended to me though, so I had to make a profile.

As I really believe in helping people and getting helped in return, I have decided to also host people. For details check the My Home section.

Interests

Already went on and on about interpersonal relationships and travel, so other stuff:

I am a bit of a geek. Ok, scratch that, A LOT. Comic books, role playing, scifi, anime, video games, you name it. If you want to discuss our favorite Harry Potter character, try to beat me at Mortal Kombat or ask graphic novel recommendations, I am your person.

Je suis un art lover extraordinaire! When I am somewhere, I definitely want to check out the local museums, historical sites, etc.

I love to argue! Wait, let me rephrase that. I love discussing with people, especially if we have somewhat contradicting opinions. My favorite topics include feminism, transhumanism, anarchism, non-monogamous relationships, history, sustainability and politics.

While staying with other people is my preferred type of accommodation, I do enjoy camping as well. There is beauty in setting up your tent miles away from civilization.

  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • beauty
  • womens rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • politics
  • anime
  • video games
  • traveling
  • camping
  • ecology
  • history
  • languages
  • historic sites

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC: Deep Purple, Metallica, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Rammstein, System of a Down... If you take me out to a rock/metal bar, I will probably have the time of my life.

MOVIES: I am mainly into horror movies (think the B ones, with practical special effects and ham acting), German cinema and coming-of-age stories. My favorite movie of all time is 'Das Leben der Anderen'.

BOOKS: I read a lot of non-fiction lately, especially about non-monogamy, feminism and transhumanism. My favorite fiction authors include Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Hemingway, Orwell, Marjane Satrapi, Art Spiegelman, Adam Douglas, Alan Moore, Herman Brusselmans, Isaac Asimov, Joe Sacco and Edgar Allen Poe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Decided on a whim to just take a job in a city I barely knew, leaving friends and family behind. Haven't regretted it once, since Amsterdam is a lovely city and I have made new, lifelong friends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Morocco, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups