Logo orange

Daniel Berhe

Lund, Skane, Sweden

Accepting Guests

Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in Swedish; learning English
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • By wandering around listening to awe...
  • By some smart people... no universit...
  • From Umeå, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see as much live music as possible throughout my travels :)

ABOUT ME

I'm a 22 year old Swedish guy, but not the typical tall, blond and blue-eyed swede, no. I got some of that sweet chocolate in me since dad's from Eritrea, Africa :)
I've lived all my life in Sweden where I at the moment work season based job, outdoor gardening. Work during the summer and go out travel during the cold winter :)
I absolutely love music, almost all the different styles, but... I can't play any instrument. But I'm trying to learn the Djembe at the moment. In my hometown we don't get too many live bands so that's why I'm trying to go to as many concerts as possible when I'm out traveling.
Another big interest of mine is football, as in soccer. I've fallen in love with the Italian team AC Milan and wish to move to Milano one day and study the language.
I enjoy playing football with friends since it's something that I've been doing all my life.

Basically I'm a easy going guy who like the simple things in life. Good company, out in the sun, and just hang.. easy as that. Oh, yeah.. don't forget the music though :)

PHILOSOPHY

Be happy with what you got, take a time out and just reflect on what you've got and how lucky you are. I got these feelings after working as a volunteer in India.

Don't worry to much, things will work out. Maybe not exactly as you hoped it would, but things will get better, no doubt.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since this is all new to me I'm not doing anything special at the moment. I've been attending some CouchSurfing meetings in Auckland, which have been great. Finding out what a huge community this actually is and the potential it has. Just amazing. Really looking forward when I go back home and register my couch as available for other surfers :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

No actual "CouchSurfing" experience yet, but heaps of other great adventures through attending CouchSurfing meetings!
I was involved in climbing Mt. Taranaki (New Zealand) with some crazy dudes riding down with their unicycles for example.. haha
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUVJOrrEgac

Interests

Oh, already mention this briefly buuuut..

*Football! Oh lordy-lord, I sure love the game :) Playing or watching doesn't matter.
*Watching movies and actually talking about them afterwards, not just say "yeah, it was good".
*Loooove listening to music, live and on my LP/Ipod. Browsing around in vinyl stores for hours is the best!
*Reading books.
*Just being outdoors and enjoying the peacefulness.
*I really like to play different types of sports, anything involving a ball of some sort.
*Baking sweets, but with people.. much more fun than by yourself :)
*I love watching stand ups, don't get to see much live in Umeå but I have many movies. Dave Chappelle, Eddie Murphy, Chris Rock, Kat Williams.. magic :)
*Going on my longboard
*Card games and other "family games" like Monopoly etc
*TV-Shows like Scrubs, The Office (American and UK), Lost, The Wire etc

Music, Movies & Books

Music, oh wow, could go on forever here.
What I go for is basically a nice guitar (acoustic/electric) and that magical voice- then I'm sold. Currently I listen to a lot of old stuff;
Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Beatles, Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson, Bob Marley and the list goes on and on.
I like Soul, Rock, Hard Rock, Metal, Reggae, Ska, Blues, Hip-Hop, Jazz. There is probably more styles but to name a few.

Movies, ah man.. let me start by mentioning some favorite actors of mine; Samuel L. Jackson (I mean come on.. anyone cooler in the business??, Denzel Washington (yeah maybe there is), Christian Bale (could probably also classify him as a mean mother f**ker) Johnny Depp (just superb). Let's stop there and go over to some favorite directors; Christopher Nolan (!!), Guy Ritchie (love the high tempo and the number of characters), Quintin Tarantino (.. you know why I wrote him)

Books, well a friend gave me IT by Stephen King two years ago xhich changed me..
Now I read George R.R Martins Song of Ice and Fire, however I've started reading more biographies of different music bands (did I mention I love music?). My favorite so far must be Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis (RHCP). But Life, by Keith Richards was also a very interesting portrait of his life.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One thing?? Wow, though one.. hmm

Well, one thing sure must have been when I went down to Milano to see AC Milan play against Roma. It was Paolo Maldinis last game at home (if you know anything about football you can imagine how huge this was) and the atmosphere was just amazing. Once in a lifetime experience for sure. Will never forget when 86,000 people are screaming his name. Ooh, gives me goose bumps just by thinking about it :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn knitting. I only know the other form of doing it, when you only use one "stick". Can't figure out the name in English at the moment, but yeah.. it's really fun!
I'm totally OK on the longboard, nor pro or newbie. Just a casual longboarder who loves it and would absolutely like to teach someone it :)
I like to bake cookies and stuff, don't know if I'm super good but I sure like what I make :D
Since I'm trying to learn to play the Djembe I would love to meet someone who knows the instrument!

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

New Zealand, Norway, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile