Dell McLeod

Waitati, Otago, New Zealand

Accepting Guests

  • 42% response rate
  • Last login 26 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dell’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Film-maker
  • Theatre degree, Masters.
  • From Waitati, Otago, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I live 15 minutes drive on the main road North of Dunedin. If you need to stay actually in Dunedin, this is not the right place for you to stay.


To explore, garden and live self sustainably....


Back in my Whare with cats of joy. Travel was grand, will be back out there again, in the mean time offerings of mine house with all it's rustic goodness in the grand village of Waitati are up for the offering. Waitati is 15mins drive north of Dunedin, so it's more of a stay on the way in or out rather than stay and explore Dunedin, or if you have a car it's fine. :)

I admire and respect the open-mindedness of being able to offer complete strangers of like minds the opportunity to encounter different lifestyles and different thoughts.
In New Zealand people often crash on couches, or offer couches to crash on, it's part of our culture, no biggie. But after providing and having couches provided I'm realizing how different it is in other cultures and how appreciative I am of the offer to 'crash here, couch if you want it'.

I have always had an open couch policy and it's provided me with some great friends, brilliant opportunities, and some of the best conversation.

Thank you for couches.

(oh me? I teach film-making online, love good conversation and fine music of varying genres. So if you would like to talk life, the universe and everything, or enjoy good film, or share some music, I'm thoroughly interested. I can show you some of the funkier haunts around Dunedin for a great meal, a good coffee or a great beverage. Also there are some beautiful beaches, great walks, superb nature...)


Open your mind and let the goodness in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


The couch is always there, the conversation is always open.


I've couch surfed around the world staying with friends on couches of varying degrees, and offering the same, but not officially on this site til now.


Skydiving! Love it.
Been involved in going to and organising outdoor dance parties for the past 20 yeras, there's a great community and a good spirit involved in outdoor dances and festivals. It's where my heart is at.
Good tunes, good conversation, good people, good films, good times.

Music, Movies, and Books

Little Miss Sunshine, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, Requiem for a Dream, Willow, Princess Bride, Prime, Dark City, Snatch, Taxi Driver, .. and many more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

thrown myself out of an aeroplane a few times. Love it!

Absolutely love skiing the peaks in the crisp air on a beautiful day.

Love walking in nature, keen as to do more.

tried to be vegetarian in South Korea. Most of them unfortunately don't understand the concept, they really really really want to give you meat.

projected visuals to a crowd of thousands

made films

snorkling in Tioman

walking to and round Park Guell

skiing near queenstown

got my motorbike lisence then moved to the other end of New Zealand on my bike the next day (super fun)

toured with a band

road trips around NZ, sleeping in the car, foraging in the sea for fresh breakfast.

Teach, Learn, Share

Gardening, organic as possible! Self-sustaining symbiotic living. Happy as to talk positive garden or enviro ideas. Film-making, perhaps we could swap some music or film ideas.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Japan, Malaysia, Poland, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, New Zealand, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Dell’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups