Logo orange

Deni Dillon

Blacksburg, VA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Deni's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 65, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Retired
  • College
  • From Blacksburg, Virginia , USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission is to see as many places and meet as many new people as possible.

ABOUT ME

I am a retired business person who has lived in many places. I have chosen to come back to my home town. I find that I appreciate its charm a lot more now that I did as a child. I love to travel, cook, and share a good bottle of wine with new and old friends. I came back to Blacksburg to help with my parents, who were ill. In the meantime, I fell in love and married Kamal, a professor at VT. When he retires, we will be able to do a lot more traveling.
Kamal is a little more reserved than me, but he also loves to meet new people. He is a quiet man and listens well. He has been very open about trying new things since we met.

PHILOSOPHY

Time is our most precious asset. I feel that we each have such a short time on this earth to make a positive impact and to experience life's pleasures.
I want to spend mine wisely.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By surfing and hosting

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My most exciting couchsurfing experience was a trip to France where I met several wonderful people, who shared their home with me for a short time. I have made new friends. I am now more excited about couchsurfing. Thanks to couchsurfing and the wonderful people who participate, I was able to really experience France like a native.
Since then, I have enjoyed the hosting experience. Most of out guests have been American, but we did have one surfer from Slovakia. All our surfers have added something to our lives. In general, I would have to say that I love the couchsurfing community.

Interests

Traveling, Gourmet and Vegetarian Cooking, Gardening, Reading, Wine appreciation, Exercising.

Music, Movies & Books

Rock, jazz, blues and Classical
I love to read almost anything.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Recently, I took an all day one on one tour of the Burgundy vinyards and wineries. It was amazing to learn how much winemaking is imbedded in the French culture. It isn't a business, it is a way of life. So now, when I enjoy a red or white wine from Burgundy, I think of all the knowledge passed down from generation to generation and the heart and soul that the vintners have put into the wine. It comes alive for me in a way that it didn't before.

Teach, Learn, Share

My husband can teach anyone how to fix anything. I am good at cooking most cuisines. Also, I love to garden and share techniques with others.
I would love help with my French.

Countries I've Visited

France, Italy, Jamaica, Switzerland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Deni's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile