James Hollings

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Engineer, Village Idiot, and Stargazer.
  • University Degree
  • From Sydney, Australia, Earth
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To have as much fun as possible in this short life


Hi! We are James & Will, a couple who is exploring Canada for a couple of years. We're aiming to be ski bums for the winter, then maybe settling down somewhere after winter.

We're both engineers, into outdoors, food, motorbikes, beer, music, geeky stuff, mtb, intelligent conversation, skiing, silliness, and relaxed open-minded people.


(James' old profile)
basically the core value for me is a nerdy interest in everything. i adore everything from arts, dance, and theatre to quantum mechanics, xkcd, and motorbikes, to ancient history, miyazaki films, and goya.... the list goes on. One friday night ill be dancing with a firestaff in a drum circle, and the next ill be curled up with glass of red and book on renaissance history. currently obsessed with learning french & mountain biking.

i love cooking for people, love sharing knowledge, and late night conversations under the stars. also love sunrise, beaches, and quiet time (typical bloody gemini as my hippy friends say).

Dont care where your from, your skin colour, who you screw, who/what you worship, what music you like - diversity is always one of the most challenging and rewarding aspects of other humans (however if you happen to have blue skin, thats just awesome!)


and now for something completely different.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I contribute the best i can through teaching, learning, and sharing, and telling as many people as possible about this beautiful concept.


Pre 2008: Ive couchsurfed and hosted informally several years in australia. had lots of hippies/circus performers/musicians/artists etc stayed over that time.

CSers ive hosted since joining:
(this is not a boast list - its for my terrible memory!)
- Melissa (USA)
- Tina & Kim (Belgium)
- Millicent (Uganda)
- Remik (Poland)
- Evan & Juan (Spain)
- Warren (USA)
- Arjun (Netherlands)
- Umer & Manuel (Switzerland)
- Vitor (Brazil)
- Pascal & Franziska (Switzerland & Germany)
- Christina (USA)
- Jules (Germany)
- Agnes (France)
- Jimmy & Lena (Sweden)
- Julie (USA)
- Daniel & Delfina (Argentina)
- Nick (Australia)
- Charlotte (Australia)
- Berryl & Brian (USA)
- Josh (NZ)
- Rachel (UK)
- Sara (Australia)
- Mikaela (Norway)
- Margo & Lise (USA)
- John & Heiki (Germany)
- Ward (Netherlands)
- Wil (USA)
- Ammon (Canada)
- Marie (France)
- Isabelle (Germany)
- Will (UK)
- Matt & Bel (Australia)
- Steph, Caroline, Theresa (Germany/Belgium)
- Annamaria (Italy)
- Miriam (Germany)
- Heather (Canada)
- Bobby & Krystal (USA)
- Nik (Germany)
- Emile (Quebec)
- Sabrina & Nicolas (France)
- Caroline (UK) & Annie (France)
- Hanna (Germany)
- Adil (USA)
- Max & Delia (France/Romania)
- Nicolas & Benedicte (France)
- Julian (France)
- Marc (France)
- Thomas & Helene (France)
- Marloes (Netherlands)
- Lily (Australia)
- Melina (Canada)
- Ben & Cecile (France)
- Marcus (UK)
- Yoann & Cedric (France)
- Yoav & Tristian (Israel/France)
- Amelie & David (France)
- Tom (Switzerland)
- Matteo (Germany)
- Camille & friends (GER/FR)
- Anne, Charly, Franka (GER)
- Charly (Germany) & Kevin (Canada)
- Lise-Anne and Matthieu (FR)
- Aline (FR)
- Vasha & Dar (USA)
- Julien (FR)
- Selma (FR)
- Flavien & JB (FR)
- Matthieu, Fabien, Rueben, Lucie (FR, CZ)
- Camille & friends (FR)
- Manuel, Jan, Sally (EU)
- Maria (IR)
- Donovan (FR)
- Greg (FR)

Couches ive surfed
- Cindy (Durban, South Africa)
- Umer (Zurich, Switzerland)
- Jeroen (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
- Vivian (Australia)
- Collin & Dave (Brisbane, Australia)
- Amy & Roland (Johannesburg, South Africa)
- Jodie (Singapore)
- Liam & Monica (Bathurst, Australia)
- Ann & Alban (Strasbourg, Fr)
- Julian (Beaufort, Fr)
- Maxime (Lyon, Fr)
- Ben & Cecile (Bordeaux)
- Marlene & Charles (Le Havre)
- Kumar & Vlad (Paris)
- Gino (Paris)
- Amy & Toby (London)
- Sylvain (Normandy)
- Gregs Mum (Tours, FR)
- Matthieu + Parents (Le Mans, FR)
- Carmelo & Eva (BC, Spain)
- Kevin (Van, CA)
- Mackenzie (Van, CA)
- Shaz (Misson, CA)

Ive met, travelled & camped with far too many others socially to mention.

oh... some of my friends surf couches as well...4:40 for start of the good bit


firespinning, dancing, food, wine, sun, surf, art, history, theatre, music, life, hugs, french, people, cooking, massage, love, cheese, stars, more hugs, random spontanaeity, sharing, butoh, motorbikes, food, laughing, nerdy books, meeting strangers, more wine, fleeting moments, and even more hugs. preferably multiples of the above simultaneously.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - just about everything - sigur ros, radiohead, shpongle, muse, infected mushroom, perfect circle, queen, phillip glass, david bowie, michael franti, robbie williams, dj shadow, nusrat fateh ali khan, faithless, rufus wainwright, afro moses, wild marmelaide, dresden dolls, kaya project, lemonjelly, and assorted house, trance, psytrance, and other genres i dance to but have no idea what they are.

books - biographies, scientific history, fantasy, religion, tolkein, anything by stephen fry, douglas adams, harry potter, steven erikson, dan simmmons, irving stone bah! too many to list.

Movies/TV: Eternal sunshine, battlestar galactica, russian ark, LOTR, sprited away (and anything else by Miyazaki), brokeback mountain, ironman, amelie, random late night foriegn films, fight club, Goodluck and Goodnight... the list goes on.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Personal highlights of my life:
- New Years dawn sunrise at Woodford Folk Festival (Oz)
- Training with Zen Zen Zo Physical Theatre (Brisbane, Oz)
- 8 day solo motorcycle adventure through western cape, South Africa
- Burning Man, USA, 2009 & 2010

Teach, Learn, Share

- Im a big foodie. I love cooking and eating about everything! i adore having shared cookups in the kitchen space, trying new foods, textures, tastes, spices.
- ive been firedancing & juggling for eight years. i rarely perform anymore, but i still love the community and meeting new people to swap ideas and teach.
- Massage is another big interest. im entirely self taught with no formal training, but have picked up alot over the past 8 years from my own reading, experience, and sharing with other massuers.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Cook Islands, France, Mozambique, Netherlands, Swaziland, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Namibia, New Zealand, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    16 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups