Fotos de Derek Albert

Perfil no verificado

  • Pago no verificado
  • Teléfono no verificado
  • Documento de identidad no verificado
  • Dirección no verificada

Puede aceptar invitados

  • Última conexión hace over 1 year

Únete a Couchsurfing para ver el perfil completo de Derek. ¡Es gratis!

Resumen

  • 0 recomendaciones
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Miembro desde 2015
  • Cognitive Neuroscience Researcher
  • Masters of Science in Psychiarty
  • De Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Has completado un 70% de tu perfil

Sobre mí

I'm a student at McGill University in Montreal. I study how mind wandering impacts driving safety. I'm really into tea, meditation, and techno music. I'm also a vegetarian, transitioning to veganism.

PHILOSOPHY

The ultimate truth cannot be spoken.

Por qué estoy en Couchsurfing

I have to fly back home for a funeral and I'd like to make a quick stop through NYC on my way. Trying to save some money because I'm on a student's budget.

Intereses

I like to make music on my computer, I'd say it's something like techno with an electro flair :P

I also really love tea. I practice a gong fu style tea meditation. Pu'er is the best!

I study cognitive neuroscience and so am fascinated by all things brain, consciousness, and experience.

I have recently been learning more about animal consciousness and ways of living more harmoniously with other species and the environment. I've been vegetarian for about a year now and am working towards eliminating all animal products from my diet. But I'm still educating myself on the subject.

  • animals
  • arts
  • books
  • environment
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • dieting
  • meditation
  • clubbing
  • flying
  • music
  • electronic music
  • neuroscience
  • volunteering

Música, películas y libros

Mr. Palomar by Italo Calvino
Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace (yes, I finished it)
Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse

Algo increíble que he hecho

Don't know if this counts as "amazing" but I've been volunteering with a group called Branch Out to go to high schools around Montreal and engage in art activities with kids that are at risk of dropping out of school. It's been a tonne of fun and I've been learning so much from those experiences. I've also been working at the Yellow Door (which hosts Canada's oldest coffee house) to renovate a space that will be used for after-school art activities, meditation and yoga sessions, tea sittings, and book club discussions, for people of all ages.

Enseña, aprende, comparte

I'd love to learn more about making electronic music. I can teach you a thing or two about that too. I primarily use virtual instruments, but if you've got any hardware (a drum machine, decks, synthesizer) that would be super cool to try out.

I'm really interested in all kinds of different things and would love to hear about what you're passionate about.

Qué puedo ofrecer a los anfitriones

Some tea and stimulating conversation!

Países que he visitado

France, Italy, Mexico, United States

Países en los que he vivido

Canada

Únete a Couchsurfing para ver el perfil completo de Derek. ¡Es gratis!