Derek Steen

Kearny, New Jersey, United States

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Derek’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Director of National Accounts....I love that title...
  • I have been educated
  • From Born in Scotland, Lived in the UK, moved to the US when i was 12
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me


To change the telephonic industry hardware from phones to cups and string as the new upcoming form of commnication.


I am 37 years old (currently) single male with 2 children, I was born in Glasgow Scotland, most of my family are still there. I moved to London when i was 7 years old, it was the pre-move prior to coming here. I left the UK when i was 12 and moved to Kearny, NJ.

I have always grown up in a city, so when i moved here it was a change of pace. But i was still close enough to NYC where i could get there in an hour. So i spent countless days and nights wandering around NYC, it became a 2nd home to me... Just cheaper living here in NJ.

I was married, and have 2 wonderful children, they are my world, my pride and joy, the reason i go to work everyday. My youngest son told me a few weeks back that when he grows up, he wants to be just like me.. I was so touched and i actually cried. I guess after that i have been thinking about the man i am, and the man i want to become... But he is a great little boy, just like me when i was his age. My oldest son is a special needs child, and his smile turns me to butter... He is such a smart boy, he is a visual learner, so he picks up everything people around him do, it can be annoying... Right now he gets my mail, opens it, tries to pay the bills, call the credit card company for disputes... last week i caught him on the phone with the cable company, trying to get extra channels, and they were going to do it... I am very protective of them, and so only close friends know them.

I am a very easy person to get along with, and can relate to many different situations. I love learning new things, having discussions about anything really. One of my favorite things to do is people watch. I am extremely open minded and i rarely get chocked. I tend to have a dry sense of humor and sarcasm is a like my first language.. But overall its all fun and games. I much prefer funny people with a great sense of humor.. I am an avid dreamer, and even though most of my dreams will never come true,i still love to dream... i have a tendency to have old fashion values, and think i lived in another time during a previous life. I am usually in a good mood, and i try to stay positive during a crisis
and i work very well under pressure.

Overall i can go on and on, but i wont. I am really all about one thing living my life without regret while being the best person i can be. :-)


I believe that a man/woman is defined not only by their actions, but what is in their heart, their substance, and their soul. We all have moments of weakness, and we'll have moments of strength, but it is at our most trying times, the hardest paths, does who we are really come out .

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Im new to CS, but i am a frequent traveler who makes a habit of crashing when out and about. I figured this would be a great way to return all the favors...


Will update at a later time


I have many interests:
Like everyone i love music so i guess that's not an interest however i do love going to small venues and hearing a live band. I love the outdoors, so i go camping, kayaking, hiking. I love to walk around the city, or thru parks. I like to go window shopping, or check out galleries, stop in local establishments and meet people. I love to travel, but with kids i don't do it as much as i would like. I also like going to local festivals and fairs. And i pretty much enjoy everything i do with my boys.

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all types of entertainment, i will leave it there or we could be here for hours...

Join Couchsurfing to see Derek’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups