Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Guilherme’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 21 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Dutch, French, Sanskrit (Saṁskṛta)
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Daydreamer
  • Life, mostly. And grandma has always been trying to spoil me
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


You can call me Gui, if you want. It's easier and that's also how my friends and family call me in Brazil.

So, after 3 years living (and, well, sometimes studying) in Berlin, I landed in Hamburg 3 years ago with the mission of finally concluding my undergrad studies. I studied a bit of Social Sciences in São Paulo, than another bit in Berlin, but then I figured out I should have always studied Urban Planning. That's what I've been doing in Hamburg since October 2012. I really try not to make this the most important part of my life, though. I think there's more about life and this world than papers, certificates and "careers".

What else...I'm a vegetarian / wanna-be vegan and I love cooking. I still wanna Japanese - half of my family is of Japanese descent, yay! Wish I could play the piano the violin, and sitar! I love animals. All of them. I love music, singing, dancing, watching good movies, being (politically) active and engaged and just being with my family and friends as well. I have the tendency of reading the same books a lot of times. I'm rather that guy with few, but very good friends than the one with 2000 acquaintances on facebook.

I'll probably end up living in an eco-village in the middle of nowhere with a lot of vegetables and rescued animals, but I think I'm still an urban animal, though. I'm a passionate cycling lobbyist and I love old Dutch bicycles. I'm indecisive, I dream a lot and I love meeting friendly, different, crazy, inspiring, conscious, relaxed, engaged people and maybe that's why I'm a member of this platform.


Respect, learn, listen, change, love, feel, question, laugh, share, resist, experiment, enjoy, preserve, create.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I got to know the project by chance, in Brazil, in 2008. Götz was the first CouchSurfer I met, in the same year. I had the opportunity to host people in São Paulo, Berlin and I've been surfing many 'non-official' couches in São Paulo, Rio, Helsinki, Munich, Amsterdam and also had the opportunity to surf lovely couches in France, Germany and Netherlands.


Bicycles, nature, gardening, tropical plants, anthropology and my amateur ethnographic expeditions around the globe, languages, sustainability (whatever this really means), (watching) people, city maps, permaculture, public transportation systems, photography, travelling by train, (modern) dance, a lot of music, little, cheap independent cinemas, architecture, sunsets, squats, female singers with powerful voices, tea, social movements, ayurveda, vegetarian cooking, urban studies, silence, deserts, talking to strangers, children, sharing thoughts, feelings, things, eastern philosophies, creative, independent fashion, learning anything new, street art, politics, massage, contact improvisation, animals, yoga, DIY, the sun, the universe,...

Music, Movies, and Books

I like to read Clarice Lispector, Caio Fernando Abreu (those 2 are my Brazilian heroes), Fernando Pessoa, Álvaro de Campos, Alberto Caeiro, Rilke, Camus, Foucault, Herman Hesse, Sociology stuff and anything else that disturbs my paradigmas;

I listen to Elis Regina (my favorite singer, ever) and to all this:;

I love Truffaut, David Lynch, Fatih Akin, Bergman, Antonioni, Wim Wenders, Truffaut, Kieslowski, Almodóvar, Haneke, Fellini, Pasolini, Woody Allen, Godard, Muriel's Wedding, Lars von Trier, Lukas Moodyson, Wong Kar Wai.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hmm, many. More recent and astonishing one: standing alone in the middle of Jemaa el Fna Square in Marrakesh, watching thousands of people walk by, storytellers, musicians, food sellers, surrounded by the haunting calls for prayer coming from Koutobia Mosque.

- the Sahara Desert and going up one of its highest dunes in the middle of the night, with the full moon as the very only source of light, and being able to see Mars, Venus and Algeria.

Teach, Learn, Share

Me, teach? hm....I could help you with Portuguese or pratice Spanish and German with you. I also love giving (and of course receiving) massages!

I'd love to learn how to knit, more about gardening and permaculture and all languages in the world. We could also pratice analogic or digital photography, meditation, yoga, some dancing.. I also would love to share my mp3-files and e-books with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Germany, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Guilherme’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups