Dervis Vural's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dervis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Professor
  • Ph.D.
  • From Ankara, Ankara, Türkiye
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a theoretical physicist and musician with a touch of nihilism. I love peanut butter, fountain pens, and Debussy. I build aquatic ecosystems, ferment chilli peppers an play obscure music instruments. My house looks like a rainforest. I love thrift stores, jazz, and children's poetry. A passionate contrarian, a fire worshipper, and a friend of entropy and chaos, but still mildly charming. Instagram: derviscanvural

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like spaces and humans.

Interests

  • interior design
  • impressionism
  • thrifting
  • minimalism
  • naturalism
  • thermodynamics
  • percussion
  • linux
  • espresso
  • autism
  • fungi
  • fermentation
  • peanut butter
  • acoustics
  • mechanical keyboards
  • ethnomusicology
  • evolutionary biology
  • throat singing
  • debussy
  • fountain pens
  • materialism
  • solipsism
  • music improvisation
  • psilocybin
  • cellular automata
  • typeface
  • tahini
  • memetics
  • solkattu
  • subjective idealism
  • freshwater ecosystems
  • textured surfaces
  • brownian motion
  • children's poetry
  • race and gender
  • long sticks
  • random matrices
  • alexithymia
  • counterpoint
  • reductionism
  • linear response theory

Music, Movies, and Books

I compose music at the interface of impressionism, modernism, bebop jazz and folklore. Think of Debussy meets Shostakovich meets Chick Corea at the Andean mountains, and they are all mildly confused about why they are there.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My lineage extends to the first cell on earth. I'm proud to have made it this far.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an expert in daydreaming, and eating very spicy food.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Over medium eggs and a grand piano.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dervis’s full profile.