Devon Kroeger

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Devon’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Volunteer Coordinator at Lattitude Canada
  • BA in Human Geography at UBC
  • From Glendale, Wisconsin
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


I got prosopagnosia, so I don't know if I knows ya


I like 'to do' lists, especially if I do the things that I wrote down.

One of the greatest joys in my life is when Percy, my fish, bites my finger when I hold it above his water. I trained him to do that.

I'm prone to bad bike accidents, but still enjoy long bike rides.

I like being the first one to pull the 'stop' chord on the bus so that it makes that *ding!*


"What is REAL?" asked the Rabbit one day, when they were lying side by side near the nursery fender, before Nana came to tidy the room. "It doesn't happen all at once," said the Skin Horse. "You become. It takes a long time. That's why it doesn't happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don't matter at all, because once you are Real you can't be ugly, except to people who don't understand." - The Velveteen Rabbit

“ When I was 5 years old, my mom always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy.” They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life." -author unknown

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


It's what I do


I learned about couch surfing December 2006 at a Christmas market in Berlin when a group of Couchsurfers were doing Free Hus there. I hung out with them almost the whole day and had such a great time, that I joined Couchsurfing immediately and have been active since.

I've been hosted by:
Kim in Grenoble, France
Ollie in Cardiff, Wales
Carlos and Jose in Barcelona, Spain
Guilhem in Prague, Czech Republic
Wojtek in Nowy Targ, Poland (HC)
Johannes in Krakow, Poland
Wil in Brussels, Belgium
Troels in Copenhagen, Denmark
Nina in Malmö, Sweden
Basti in Leipzig, Germany
Dave and Deanna in Vancouver, Canada
Dan and Chance in Victoria, Canada
Greg in Chicago, USA
John in Seattle, USA
Jordan in Vancouver, Canada
Drew in Pitt Meadows, Canada
Kim in Seattle, USA
Blake and Celine; Victoria, Canada
Dylan; Duncan, Canada
Lisa and Paul; Tofino, Canada
Eric; Salt Spring, Canada
Lauren and Nate; Portland, USA
Mike; Portland, Oregon
Ryan; Seattle, Washington
Claire; Chicago, Illinois

In Berlin, I've hosted and co-hosted:
Devin, USA
Kim, USA
Michael, Australia
Zack, USA
Brock, Canada
Marta, Brazil
Adam, Canada
Jon and Kim, England and USA
Andrea, Italy
Lindsay, Ami, and Arjali, USA
Nicolas, Argentina
Raymond, Norway
Louie, New Zealand
Zak, USA
Max, Germany
Toby, Australia
Julia and Aline, France
Marcello and Phillipo, Italy
Don, Spain
Nathan, Australia
Kek, England
Doron, Israel
Diego, Uruguay
Ilan, USA
Marion and Felix, France
Daniel, Czech Republic
Mark and Johannes, New Zealand
Georg, Germany
Joon and Yeong cheol, Korea
Nic and Alex, Australia
Ankit, India
Alex, USA
Jess, USA
Tom, Australia
Jim, Australia
Imogen, Wales
Ulrike, Germany
Ayax, Mexico
Cameron, England
Szilard, Hungary
Greg, USA
Roy and Yuval, Israel
Gareth and Alastair, England
Sebastian, Germany
Florian, Germany
Joel and Sroop, England

In Vancouver, I've hosted:
Tim, Netherlands
Orion, USA
Kay, Germany
Greg, USA
Jordan, Canada
Drew, Canada
Sam, England
Artur, Germany
Iain, England
Mike, USA
Neil, USA
Carsten, Germany
Lauren and Nate, USA
Michael, Germany
Mathieu, Canada
Robert, Canada
Sam, Canada
Yoko, Japan
Andrew, Canada
Florian, Germany
Philipe, Germany
Jeremie, Canada
Ollie and Max, Germany
Yann, France
Ryan and Patrick, USA
Eddie, Canada
Mark, Germany
Anna, USA
Jamie, USA
David, Canada
Cori, USA


A list of things I like in no particular order:

-Music in all shapes, styles, and forms, including making up songs to the hum of machinery (like a leaf blower or dish washer- do other people do that?)
-Travel (how shocking!)with alternative modes of transportation like car-shares and hitchhiking
-Hiking, biking, camping, swimming, soccer, water polo, flying kites, and other outdoorsy things
-Cooking, baking (I just recently got into making my own bread), strumming the guitar and singing with friends, reading, watching movies that don't encourage my brain to shut off for 2 hours, and other indoorsy, rainy day type things
-Photography, street art, making/viewing/sharing art, poetry slams(!) and open mic nights
-Exploring ways to live sustainably and live with more purpose and happiness (i.e. communal house projects, farmers markets, being conscious of how my actions affect society and the environment, alternative modes of transportation, and a vegetarian diet!)
-Developmental and humanitarian aid, which is what I ultimately want to do with my life
-Dancing, funky clubs, small bars, house parties, concerts, and music festivals! hooray!
-I have a very deep love for Berlin and everyone who had anything to do with my life there
-growing my own food and eating it OMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOM
-going to rallies/protests/demonstrations/conferences about things that I'm passionate about
-making short stop-motion animation films. making normally inanimate and harmless objects kill you or your friends is great fun.
-playing Amanda, my mandolin. Get it? A Manda-lin? A khee khee khee khee khee.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ocean kayaking by myself with dolphins of the coast of florida

exploring an old soviet military base in east berlin

performing with the moscow conservatory of music

working in a former concentration camp in Stutthof, Poland to uncover rotted out barracks

Hitchhiked a 4 seat airplane in south Denmark and flew it

Worked as a Security Guard for rock concerts at the Largest Music Festival in the World: Summerfest in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Teach, Learn, Share

Can Teach-how to play "the final countdown" on violin-how to develop black and white photographs-how to swim-funny German expressions or German in general -how to solve a rubik's cube-how to play the thunder drumWants to learn-Arabic-how to give a proper massage (and get certified)-how to make soap-how to make all sorts of different curries-how to whistle-all of the best/worst pick up lines in the world-the rest of Classical Gas on guitarShare-bottles of wine-good food-music!-good conversation with those aforementioned three things happening at the same time.Im not very good at sharing food in restaurants. But I like sharing food at home.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Canada, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Guatemala, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Guatemala, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    24 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Devon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups