Logo orange

Diana Vermilya

Arlington, Massachusetts, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Diana's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Finnish, Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student, Software Engineer, tutor, etc.
  • I'm working on a engineering degree.
  • From Arlington, MA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

When I travel, I come to learn about the culture and the people. If there is time after that, I'll go see the sights.

ABOUT ME

I am currently a sophomore in college studying engineering, at Olin College of Engineering in Needham, MA. I was a homeschooled for the last for years of my childhood, and am now a learner for life. I have lived all my life in the Boston area, and will be here for another four years, so it is important to me to spend some time with people living in other cultures. There is no better way to understand others then to spend time with them!

Things you may want to know about me... I am interested in senses and perception, cognition, and neuroscience. I hope to someday be a programmer working in this space. I want people to see what they are capable of. I think people in general are pretty incredible. I like to learn about them, what inspires them, motivates them, makes them feel alive. I play the violin. I have for 10 years. I love it so much. It is, to me, a fantastic form of communication. I am an artist. This to me is more the way I think of things, than how much time I spend making what people call art. I want my life to be a life of creating beautiful things. I like hugs... very much.

I am very independent. Or better said, I prize my independence highly. I enjoy traveling on my own and with other people. I really like flowers, and gardens, and the woods. Sometimes, I wish I was a bird. Actually, a lot of the time. I want to encourage people to chase their dreams, make the most out of the resources they have, and take risks.

I like you... If I haven't met you, chances are high that I'd like to. There is something to be learned from every person, and something to give back.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm unable to formulate a personal philosophy, but if I could, it'd involve love, learning, music, harmony, hard work, and creativity.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Unfortunately, I am not at a point in life where I can often participate in couchsurfing. College occupies all my time, and my breaks are generally spent with my family.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I traveled around Europe with a friend the summer before my freshman year in college, couchsurfing and hosteling. It was an incredible experience, but I'd definitely say the best part was meeting new people. I remember sitting on top of a mountaintop in Graz, Austria, drinking champagne and listening to to my host and her friends sing Austrian folk songs. In terms of unofficial experiences, I've hosted friends, stayed at the houses of friends, and lived in community with others.

Interests

Engineering, violin, music in general, beads, homeschooling, unschooling, alternative learning styles, acrobatics, traveling, cooking, flowers, garment design, interior design,

Music, Movies & Books

Books (in no particular order): This is Your Mind on Music Anna Karenina The Giver The Thirteen Reasons Why Uglies Pretties Specials The Slaughterhouse 5 To Kill a Mockingbird The Good Earth The Illustrated Man Damien Siddhartha Ender's Game Rebecca Catch Me If You Can The Metamorphosis

Music: Alanis Morissette Carsie Blanton Dar Williams A Fine Frenzy Broadcast 2000 The Duhks Regina Spector Yeil Naim Rodrigo y Gabriela Loreena McKennitt Joan Baez Jason Mraz Hilary Hahn Ingrid Michaelson Feist Claire Dickson Cat Stevens Capercaillie Bob Dylan Joni Mitchell Bill Staines Bach Coldplay Cake Alison Krauss Jesca Hoop Nickel Creek David Bowie Joshua Bell

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Played Beethoven Swam across Walden pond and back. Been on the third layer of a castell tower. Built a pressure varying calligraphy robot.

Teach, Learn, Share

Engineering, pottery, sailing, making music, dancing, cooking, creating things

I am so, absolutely looking forward to CouchSurfing University. That style of living is how I want my whole life to be.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Diana's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile