Sven Van Camp's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sven’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch; learning English, French
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Once again, a student
  • Pedagogiek (VUB), Chemistry (KHLim)
  • From Brussels, Belgium
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enlarge my knowledge, view and consciousness

ABOUT ME

Born near Brussels, partially grown up in Utah, moved back to Belgium and living there since 1990. So no real "home"feeling. Personally I see myself as a relaxed person with an open view towards others. Love kids and most animals. Love to travel

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy is one of understanding the world among me and being open for it. All the rest changes over time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm still quite new to the community, I surfed 4-5 couches till now and hosted 2-3 other couchsurfer. Always had a lot of fun...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I stayed with 4-5 people, all in the U.S. Was an unbelievable experience, that changed my way of viewing people and things. From now on, if I travel, I'm not gonna be satisfied if I haven't couchsurfed anywhere.

I hosted a guy from Germany, had lot of laughs and took him to a party in Leuven. Another night, my sister picked up a Scottisch CS'er by accident. He was lifting on the highway in the rain and she thought: "What the hell, let's pick him up". Somewhat risky but it turned out to be a good experience. During our last hosting experience we had two women staying for a night. They were sort of pelgrims who tried to make they're way to Compostella.

Interests

I have completely opposite interests. Studied special education, and then chemistry.. I like motorcycles (have a Honda 500CB myself) but also theatre. I like sports (such as soccer, swimming, running, skiing, badminton,...,altough I'm really not a fanatic) and being a couchpotatoe. The rest of my time I hang out with friends, read, watch movies and occasionally play some computergames or poker.

  • animals
  • education
  • running
  • partying
  • motorcycles
  • movies
  • traveling
  • poker
  • skiing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • chemistry
  • teaching
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music when relaxed: blues and soul
Music when active: rock from the fifties till now
Music when going out: electro, some drum & bass
Being more specific would take too much space, I can only say I'm into music :).

Movies: My favourite moviedirectors are the Coen brothers (The Big Lebowski; Fargo; O Brother, Where Are Though?;...). Francis Ford Coppola, Scorcese, Tarantino are in my top five. The last film I really appreciated was 'Little miss sunshine'.

Books: the classics, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Jonathan Safran Foer,...and Belgians greatest modern writers: Dimitri Verhulst and Tom Lanoye

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled through Ecuador and stayed in the mountains at an amazing youth hostel with all kinds of people. Also saw whales swimming freely in the pacific, it's true what they say: such big animals give you a sense of something bigger than human perception.

Lived in US for couple of years, that experience plays an important part in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to learn and know all kind's of relevant and irrelevant stuff, so we will always find something to talk about. I should be able to learn you something, the question is: do you want to learn the things I know?? (Muhahaha)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sven’s full profile. It’s free!