Disa Bäckström

Uppsala, Uppsala, Sweden

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Disa’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student
  • Master of science (Molecular cell biology)
  • From Åkersberga (Stockholm)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Always learning new things and growing stronger by sharing experiences perspectives with other people.


I love all forms of nature and outdoors activities, but I'm especially hooked on climbing. When I'm not hanging out at the climbing gym or the local climbing crags, I enjoy cooking and sharing food with friends, reading epic sci-fi novels and walking in the forest. I'm also involved in the urban gardening group Flogsta Food, where I participate in a community garden.


Opinions and feelings are not static, so never try to define yourself or other people according to your current beliefs- it only limits your ability to grow.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


This far I have only couchsurfed and gone to CS meetings. I'm looking forward to start hosting once I have my own apartment.


When surfing I have met so many kind and wonderful people. My first CS experience in Berlin during the turn of the year 2009-2010 was mind blowing! After that I went to CS events in London and couchsurfed in Holland, Japan and Thailand.


Science! (Yes, I'm a bit nerdy..) Especially biology, which I happen to study, and psychology, which I read occasionally as a passtime. I always enjoy learning new things about how life, people and the world works.

Climbing is my favorite sport, and a growing passion. It brings me to beautiful places with nice people, and challenges me both physically and mentally.

As entertainment I love to go to the theatre, watch live bands, experimenting in the kitchen, or explore the environment. Or just relax with a cup of tea and a good book/anime/tv-show.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Interstellar, Her, Contact, Science of Sleep, Sunshine on a Spotless Mind, Back to the future, The Prestige, Dark City, Paprika

Books: His Dark Materials, Harry Potter, Fight Club, Haruki Murakami, Year of the Flood, John Ajvide Lindqvist.

Music: Very varying. Everything between classical music and psy, minus rnb and death metal.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing Mt Fuji during the night to watch the sunrise together with hundreds of other people.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy sharing cooking recepies and having scientific and/or philosophical discussions.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Disa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups