Not Accepting Guests

  • 88% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Denise’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 73 References 56 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Web designer
  • BFA in Photography, Digital Imaging
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We have no more room to host in July. We also cannot host on the weekends of 13, 14, 20, 21 August.
---
I've been on CS a long time, from my earlier hipp-ier days when you had 3 months' of holidays, to the current stage of adulthood and being responsible, and slowly discovering how my parents became who they are/were.

Unfortunately this means that things like a 3 month travel trip now brings up the question, "How will I pay the mortgage?", and practically, "When will I quit my job?", because no company will give you 3 months off, unless you work for yourself. If you identify with this, I think we'll get along well.

I grew up in Singapore, but I moved to Glasgow over 3 years ago and have been putting roots down here.

There's a lot to see in Scotland alone, excluding all the other amazing places in the rest of the UK. So I'm taking my time, making short trips and exploring the beautiful and often treacherous outdoors (midges, cleggs, bogs, wind) without flying half way across the world. We can definitely give you tips on the best places in Scotland.

I live with my boyfriend, and if you want to surf with me, you should also check out his profile (https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/3124827/profile).

We are very heavily involved in the local food movement here, and grow some of our own vegetables through various projects and spaces. We're meat eaters, though we try to source organic or local meat as much as is possible. We'll happily go meat free for guests.

We try to live as green as possible. We recycle, compost, and try to reduce waste by using all parts of vegetables and meat - did you know you can eat carrot tops? - the green bit, not the knobly bit. I'd like to get away from plastic and one-use packaging, though it seems to be in EVERYTHING. If anyone has succeeded in this I'd be happy to hear your story. I have seen those videos/blogs of people who can fit all their trash into one mason jar - I think they're lying.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We want people to cook for us. Genuinely, we are huge foodies, and we're also occasionally lazy.

Also, preparing a meal together in someone's home, with spices different from what you're used to, where the kitchen isn't laid out the way you want, and the oven and you have not been acquainted, that is the best way to get to know people.

Don't worry, we have good knives and a dishwasher.

Interests

Scotland, wild camping, wild swimming (the idea is often more romantic), how to repel midges

Board games: Caverna is the game I keep wanting to play, but can't find people to play it with. Also Settlers of Catan, Connect 4, Mastermind, Chinese checkers, jenga, and my most prized find from the charity shop: Civilization (Sid Meier) in a board game!

Adulting stuff: mortgages, stable job, what wallpaper to choose, what colour to paint your walls, what type of paint to use, how to paint behind radiators, reliable dishwasher, carpet, laminate or wood?

  • arts
  • design
  • photography
  • diy
  • dining
  • cooking
  • flying
  • gardening
  • shopping
  • clothing
  • board games
  • puzzles
  • outdoor activities

Music, Movies, and Books

Father Ted, The League of Gentlemen (UK series), Adventure Time, Futurama, Black Mirror, David Attenborough.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Persevering and achieving something you once thought impossible: making sense of art, somewhat. Also I made my own curtains. You need to see how large my windows are to understand that this is a feat.

Teach, Learn, Share

Food, gardening, DIY, craft, design

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've learnt how to cook a few local Singaporean foods since moving to the UK, which I'll be really really happy to share.

I can also make you something with the sewing machine if there is time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Scotland, Singapore

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Denise’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups