Dmitry Sakuro's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 23 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dmitry’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Latvian, Russian
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Student
  • University of East Anglia
  • From Latvia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Open-minded, friendly and sociable person born and raised in the capital city of Latvia - Riga. Russian is my native language. In 2017 I moved to England, where I started my higher education in Accounting and Finance.

Hopeless romantic, an old soul. I truly admire nature, its purity and energy, and I always try to escape whenever there's a chance.

After visiting a place, city or country I always buy a postcard if there is one. I write down the best memory I've got from that place on the back side and stick it to the wall. So far I've got 114.

Couchsurfed in:
2018:
- Bristol, England - 2 nights
- Paris, France - 4 nights
- Lorrach, Germany - 1 week
- Interlaken, Switzerland - 2 nights
2019:
- Frankfurt, Germany - 1 night
- Nuremberg, Germany - 2 nights
2022:
- Svelvik, Vestfold, Norway - 1 night
- New York City, USA - 4 nights

*Some of the references I had disappeared, but they all were very positive!

More info and photos of mine on my Instagram page - https://www.instagram.com/dshakuro/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Travelling became a crucial factor in my personal development, and, as I believe, interaction with people was the most important experience in every trip I've ever had.

Feeling like home in a house I've never been before? Feeling like I know the person forever, even though we've met an hour or a day ago? In the world of locks, fences, lies and secrets Couchsurfing is the only place I can feel free from all of it.

When I travel, I can enjoy the city, its sightseeings and architecture but the most important to me is its culture, and true culture lies in its people.

Interests

  • animals
  • singing
  • cooking
  • music
  • hiking
  • rowing
  • films
  • forests
  • exploring
  • postcards
  • antiques
  • foreign cultures
  • classic cars
  • numismatics
  • foreign food

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
My taste in music changes very quickly and it usually depends on the period in life. In one day I can listen to classical music, then rap (Eminem, Machine Gun Kelly), pop-rock (Green Day, the Beatles, Elvis Presley, Queen), then something more romantic like Nino Rota - "Romeo's Foreboding And The Feast At The House Of Capulet". Music was, is and will always be a huge part of my life so it's really hard to pick a few I like the most.

Movies:
Harry Potter (always /*), The Shawshank Redemption (1994), It's a Wonderful Life (1946), Romeo and Juliet (1968), Some Like It Hot (1959), The Wolf of Wall Street (2013), Friends (1994-2004), Notting Hill (1999), Home Alone 1 and 2 (1990, 1992, every Christmas), The Maze Runner (2014-2018).

Books:
I wish I read more but I always find an excuse not to, even though I know that reading is key to every answer in this world. I hope that will change.
William Shakespeare (absolute favourite "Romeo and Juliet), George S. Clason "The Richest Man in Babylon", Paolo Coelho "The Alchemist"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Loved.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belarus, Croatia, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Latvia

Join Couchsurfing to see Dmitry’s full profile.

My Groups