Callum Pickard

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Accepting Guests

  • 11% response rate
  • Last login 28 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Professional Human and Artist
  • Poor to say the least... borderline conversationable... b...
  • From Cape Town, South Africa
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Get out of the box


I like to wake up early, but don't do it very often, not for lack of trying though. I love to be outside and spending time finding interesting things in nature. I do charcoal drawings for a living and live in a great little house a few hundred metres from a popular Cape Town surfing beach. I've spent the last few years since I finished school living in a number different countries, but I'm in Cape Town for then ext year while I raise money for art school next year in New York.


Life's too short to sleep in a bed... 3 hours on a couch will do just fine!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I plan on travelling as much as i can, but while I'm positioned in one place long enough, my couch is your oyster.


I've fallen asleep on many couches, whether accidental or not, but usually without written confirmation, and often to the couch owners suprise.

Done a bit of surfing myself, mostly in Germany and Holland, but a fair amount of hosting in Cape Town. Have had the pleasure of many fantastic people passing through our house.


ANYTHING involving drawing with charcoal, climbing, fishing, Sailing, growing plants... and the list goes on...

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I really enjoy biographies, Steve Jobs, Roahl Dahl, a few others. I like book like Bill Bryson's Short History of Nearly Everything, and also dip into the cliches such as the 'Song of Fire and Ice' series sometimes.

Movies: I watch EVERYTHING. I'm not a TV fanatic or anything. but when I draw I usually have something on. I draw A LOT. I managed to watch quite a bit too because of this

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Went to a big wave surf spot and paddled out into some monsters (I DO NOT SURF OFTEN AT ALL).

I merely watched in awe as some masters did their thing, but was proud to be out there nonetheless.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm not a reservoir of languages unfortunately, but I'm always willing to learn what I can and make an effort to communicate with people the best I can in whatever minimal vocabulary for that language that i have. I can teach you to surf, or ride a bike... but otherwise my skills are limited to those common in the Southern African continent... what are those skills you may ask yourself? i know i ask myself all the time...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Cambodia, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile. It’s free!