Dónal Murray's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dónal’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Irish; learning French, German, Russian
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Physics at Uni of Manchester
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To get up winter climbing in Scotland as often as possible this winter. Currently studying physics at University of Manchester.

ABOUT ME

Belfast man, born and raised. I love the outdoors - especially spending time in the mountains. I spend a lot of my free weekends hiking/camping/climbing/cycling/exploring.
I'm very outgoing and love making friends and talking to new people. Since leaving school at the age of 18 I've travelled extensively and when I'm at home I'm always thinking of the next trip.
I've been studying Physics at the University of Manchester for four years and spent an exchange year at TUM in München.

PHILOSOPHY

Talk to everyone, learn everything.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

CSed when I was hitchhiking through Germany to Munich for my exchange year. Hoping to host at weekends. Last minute couch requests also welcome, I've spent plenty of long cold nights stranded in places where I've arrived too late to get anywhere to stay and spent the whole night just dreaming of a roof or somewhere I can stash my stuff.

Interests

I have always been sporty. I'm a keen climber and alpinist, I'm never out of the gym and back home I play hurling, Gaelic football and I used to row. Previously I have played basketball and waterpolo to club level and have tried out just about every other sport I've come into contact with.

I love languages, everywhere I go I like to learn as much as possible and I always like to talk to people in their own language if possible

I also love talking (about absolutely anything) and going out for a drink or ten, be it to a pub or club or just sitting around on a sunny day in the park.

  • alpinism
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • camping
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • languages
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

The Prodigy, The Rolling Stones, CCR, The Glitch Mob, Shy FX, System of a Down, New Order, Gorillaz, J.S. Bach, ... Can't see a pattern? There isn't one - I listen to everything and love all types of music

American Psycho, Apocalypse Now, No Country for Old Men, Whiplash, The Big Lebowski. Anything by The Coen Brothers or Quentin Tarantino and anything with Christian Bale or Daniel Day-Lewis in it.

Rick and Morty, Archer, Westworld, Game of Thrones, Black Sails.

I read a lot. My favourite books include Ivanhoe by Walter Scott, 1984 by George Orwell and On the Road by Jack Kerouac; Pope's Iliad and Odyssey; any and all of P.G. Wodehouse's books; An Unsung Hero by Michael Smith about the Antarctic explorer Tom Crean, one of the toughest men to ever come out of Ireland.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

While in Nepal in 2013, my friend and I trekked the three passes route in the Khumbu region of the Himalaya without a guide.
We negotiated the three passes (Kongma La, Cho La and Renjo La), crossed two glaciers (Khumbu and Cho La glacier), summitted three 5000-metre peaks (Chhukung Ri, Kala Patthar and Gokyo Ri), met some buddhist monks in Tengboche, had a standoff with a huge angry yak, scrambled up a ridge above Kongma La to my highest altitude ever (5560-ish metres), wrangled a cup of cinnamon tea in Everest Base Camp, found the fabled fourth lake of Gokyo, played thousands of hands of yaniv and ate more daal bhat than I ever thought possible.
22 days hiking above 3000m, 10 days above 4500 metres.
After all that, on our journey out of the mountains we descended 2 vertical kilometres in a day and realised the joys of acclimatisation, laughing as we ran giddily down the path, high on the extra oxygen in the air at the lower altitude.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Monaco, Nepal, Poland, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, England, Germany, Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Dónal’s full profile. It’s free!