Donald Massyn's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Donald’s full profile.


  • 125 references 108 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 54, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Programmer
  • Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

If you are browsing my profile wondering if I will host you, then I might, so send me a request. I prefer selecting my guests from the travelers list, but sometimes the most interesting experiences in life are the ones you least expect.

I only follow two rules, the first is that your Response Rate needs to be at least 50%, if it's lower then I will politely decline. The second is that you have a real name on your profile, anything that is obviously not your real name and I will decline.

I am quiet, open minded and friendly. I'm always looking for something new to learn or do.

The golden rule in my home:
- Respect and tolerance for everyone. In my home you are free to be yourself, who ever you are and where ever you fit in the diverse spectrum of humanity.

My favourite quote:
"Everyone has inherent dignity and the right to have their dignity respected and protected."

Paragraph 9 is pretty cool too....

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting new people, making new contacts, making the world a friendlier place :)

"People tell you all these romantic things. You know, ‘I’ll always be there for you.’ ‘I’ll walk the earth for you.’ Whatever. But then you need a ride home from work or someone to talk to on a Tuesday night and they’re too busy. I don’t want anyone to walk the earth for me. Not unless I can come too.” -Mikel Jollett

- Don't be afraid to ask questions, I want your stay in Joburg to be comfortable and enjoyable
- Don't be late if you can avoid it
- Don't be afraid to call me and ask that I come fetch you if you get lost.
- Don't apologise for your English. I can't speak your language, so I appreciate your effort to speak mine.

Some DO'S
- Do pay your own way and let me pay mine
- Do have a real name and clear face photos on your profile. Couchsurfing works on trust, so everything on your profile that helps me get to know you before I meet you helps build trust.
- Do treat my home like it's yours
- Do be nice to the cats, leave a door or window open so they get out
- Do keep me updated on your plans so i can plan around you
- Do get the Uber app on your phone
- Let me get you a local SIM card for your phone (if it's not locked) and load airtime so you can stay in touch


Travel, Squash, Quiz nights, Cycling and Biking.

I play League squash in winter, gym a few times a week and every two weeks is Quiz night. I have a circle of friends who enjoy going out for a good meal every week and if it's Sunday and there is a Grand Prix on then we will be watching that.

The above offers are for any CS's who are in town, even if I'm not hosting you. Just send me a message and we can organise.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • walking
  • traveling
  • live music
  • cycling
  • gym
  • sunsets
  • lookout points

Music, Movies, and Books

Wilco, Radiohead & fun., Star Wars & any Sci-Fi, anything by Jon Ronson

I put together a youtube playlist of my favourite South African music. Enjoy it ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not amazing in itself, but the day I landed in Australia and realised I'd been to every continent except Antarctica made me feel pretty good. Now I just need to get to Antarctica :/

Also, arriving at John O' Groats in Scotland by bike after leaving Lands End two day earlier was a pretty amazing feeling.

Spending Christmas Day at Hong Kong Disneyland.

And most recently, Chang-la, Tanlang-la and Khardung-la, 3rd , 2nd and highest motorable passes in the world in three days in the Northern Himalayas on a Royal Enfield.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love food, well I love the flavours of food. Music and flavours are great triggers for evoking memories, good and bad.

Make me a meal that reminds you of your home.

I'll see if I can pair it with a good bottle of wine or a beer

What I Can Share with Hosts

A love of Joburg, i fix computers too and help you setup your email... but that is work...

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Lesotho, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Qatar, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Donald’s full profile.

My Groups