Marijus Gailius's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 10% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marijus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 72 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Lithuanian, Russian; learning French, Swedish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Writing & Criticism
  • Journalism & Literature
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Mostly I care only about my family, books and environment. As a result, I received The Book if the Year prize for my cli-fi novel Oro in 2019 and joined the cabinet of a minister of environment in 2020.

If I could, I would buy nothing and only read. And read. Recently we started renovating an old house in nature, where we expect combining these interests: literature, sustainable living and family life (feel free to follow @krantines_trylika on IG).

If you ride a bike and sometimes read books, we will find things in common. Green values are in demand. If you travel around the world by train or hitchhiking, that's cool. If by plane, I will have to consider. Cycle and recycle!

MOTO: Chance and chance alone has a message for us. Everything that occurs out of necessity, everything expected, repeated day in and day out, is mute. Only chance can speak to us. (M. Kundera)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I use this platform not only as a cheaper way to travel, but as routine of sharing shelter, experience and knowledge. Sharing is the path to sustainable future, so we are all agents of the future here. Lucky us! We should be proud of being CS members. : ) Meanwhile, I mostly host as I avoid travelling by plane (for the same reason – sustainability). It is not that the airlines are cheap, our planet is too cheap. (Is it?) The best way of travel for me is a great novel in a hand (with a glass of bourbon in another) on the shore of a lake in a deep forest.

PLEASE NOTE: I answer only to relevant requests. We are a couple living with two small kids and some couchsurfers might find that disturbing. You would have a separate room for sleep, but please consider that in the daytime the common room is used for our activities too.

I usually spend some meaningful time with my hosts, we gladly visit a cozy bar or event, make conversations, I drop them to a spot needed, etc. Let's keep it up!

Interests

Literature / Environment / Policy

  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • environment
  • chess
  • cycling
  • lakes
  • theatre
  • climate change
  • electric cars

Music, Movies, and Books

BOOKS:
Atwood, Frisch, Houellebecq, Zola, Sartre, Mann, Kafka, Kundera, Fowles, Gavelis, Kunčinas, etc.

MOVIES:
Adam's Apples, Darwin's Nightmare, The Age of Stupid, Cet obscur objet du désir, The Matrix, Rosemary's Baby, Festen, Roy Andersson's trilogy, etc.

MUSIC:
drum-traid: drum'n'bass, hip-hop, dubstep;
lyric-traid: Russian Red, Regina Spektor, Cat Power;
symphony-traid: Max Richter, Ph. Glass, G. Gould.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It was my birthday. I grab a backpack, took a train and destined to my native town, Palanga, on the shore of the Baltic Sea. Alone. In Botanic Park, by the second lake, I fired a cigarette. It was autumn. Trees coloured. Nobody around, just me and some calm ducks. No worries, only the feeling of what's eternal.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach some Lithuanian, the ancientest language of Europe, as it is told. And some chess perhaps?

What I Can Share with Hosts

We have a couch suitable for two in Žvėrynas area, which is located 10 min on foot to the city center. A fridge is mine, food in it – yours. Two bicycles for your trips when we do not ride.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, France, Lithuania, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Marijus’s full profile.