Donna Lear's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Donna’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 53, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Humanist Funeral Celebrant
  • O Levels, A Levels, Reiki practitioner, aromatherapist
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

I'm 53, a mother of three daughters and two sons and grandmother to three little boys.
I was divorced 18 years ago and brought my children up alone after that. They are all incredible, unique people and I am so very proud of them all.
I used to have an Italian partner who I visited in his home town of Genoa every other month - but we have since split up and so I don't do a lot of travelling any longer. Hopefully that will change in the future.

My job as a humanist funeral celebrant brings me into contact with so many amazing people. I believe we all have so much we can teach eath other. My work has also taught me that life is so very fleeting and more precious than we acknowledge at times. I've learned to live each day like it's the last and embrace whatever comes my way in life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined Couchsurfing in desperation actually, after realising my 18 year old son and his friend had not been able to find accommodation in Reading (for the festival) and had planned to sleep at the train station. Unfortunately, they still ended up in the station but got home safely.
I hope to have the opportunity to meet some interesting (and far braver travellers than myself) and if I can help them in some small way it will be more than worthwhile.

Interests

  • books
  • knitting
  • guitar
  • history
  • italy

Music, Movies, and Books

Bowie, Michael Jackson, Train, Hugo and many many others.
The Piano, Dangerous Liaisons, Last of the Mohicans, A Matter of Life and Death, Gladiator etc
Books....too many!
Love Michelle Lovric, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, David Mitchell, Stephen King, Margaret Atwood.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Freefall skydive.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've lived a jam packed life - growing up in the army, living abroad as a child, two marriages and subsequent divorces, bringing up five children, a myriad of different jobs, studying everything from aromatherapy and Reiki to psychology and sign language and generally living each day as it comes.
I've learned to grab life by the short and curlies since starting my amazing job, seven years ago. I am determined to keep growing and learning.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A wealth of interesting information on death and funerals....? Boy, do I have a few stories to tell!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cyprus, France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Donna’s full profile. It’s free!