Dorian Barrios's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login 8 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorian’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 76 References 47 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Rock star photo editor
  • B.A.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please Read My Complete Profile Especially The My Home Section Before Sending a Request!


Planning my next adventure!


I like to take in the world, try new things, head to new places and enjoy life. With my camera I like to capture the essence of this journey. A good soundtrack always sets the proper mood.


I also like to eat and cook lots of Italian food. I was pretty much raised on pizza and spaghetti!


Do it!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I Love to surf, it feels like I am visiting with long lost friends and family all around the world.
I also love meeting up with travelers and chat about their journey sometimes I give them a tour of one of the neighborhoods around me or help out in any way I can .
I also love to host even though a lot of times sleeping arrangements can be a bit tight, but sometimes that can be part of the fun!


I surfed with some wonderful host through Europe in spring 2012 and since then have continued to surf from Champaign to Cairo!

I've also had the opportunity to host some wonderful guests and show them my city.

I also like showing travelers around town and heading to CS meetings on occasion.

I've had so many memorable experiences through Couch Surfing. But it really all began in San Francisco. I stayed with a friend of a friend on a comfy couch. Best moments were the breakfast burrito, the golden gate bridge and finding noodles in the tub just as I stepped into shower.


Photography, Pizza, Whiskey

Photography is my major passion. Capturing a feeling, a moment, a mood, or a personality in one photograph is a great experience and really enjoy doing that.

I am a fan of the visual arts. I love spending time in museums and checking out art galleries getting lost in art.

I am also a big fan of music, at home I'd rather throw on some tunes than watch tv. My tastes can vary by the seasons but I usually like upbeat music that gets me going.

I also love biking and doing it in a city like Chicago is an amazing experience. Riding down the lake front at night, feeling like I'm floating, dashing through rush hour traffic on a cool autumn evening. I love it and recommend everybody try commuting to work by bike.
I also enjoy listening to a wide variety of music from EDM to Country to Jazz to Mariachi on occasion. I also enjoy traditional dances like flamenco and bomba, although I can't dance them very well, I do appreciate them.

I also love art, museums, tacos, Final Fantasy 3 and 16bit games are some other areas of interests.

  • arts
  • photography
  • perfumes
  • dancing
  • flamenco
  • dining
  • italian food
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • tv
  • music
  • jazz
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • visual arts

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to lots of styles of music. I'm really into upbeat and energetic styles. I really enjoy Bachata, Boleros, Salsa, K-Pop, Trance, Pop, French Pop, Latin and some country once in while. The stuff coming out of Romania as of late has been pretty fun too. Some good percussion and accordion are always welcomed. In general I like listening to anything that has a positive energy and gets me excited.

As far as movies go I'm really into action and war flicks.
The Bourne series, Skyfall, Goldeneye, From Russia with Love, The Matrix, Biutiful, The Professional, City of God, Braveheart, Colombiana, Tokyo Drift, Full Metal Jacket

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recently on my trip through Europe I saw a cow give birth to a calf.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know my way around a camera pretty well and would be more than happy to go on a photo expedition with anyone. I also have tons of photos that I would be happy to sit down and share with you.

I do speak Spanish as well as English so if you need any practice I would be more than happy to help out.

If you think you have something to show me I probably want to see it!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups