Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Doris’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • chemical engineer, English teacher
  • Rice University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to be fully present in the moment

ABOUT ME

I like antiquated words, the smell of bleach, and dancing idiotically. Not necessarily at the same time.

I'm trying to take life in one moment at a time.

I am respectful, a good listener, quirky, and openminded.

I've travelled extensively, but prefer immersion over dabbling. I grew up all around the world, USA, South Africa, and Poland, spent a semester abroad in Turkey, and am now living in Peru .

PHILOSOPHY

the world is so much bigger than just you.

Interests

music, esp live music.
art museums, libraries, and other quiet spaces.
reading.
bicycles, early morning rides or late night rides.
lazing around outside.
cooking real meals.
trying new things.

  • arts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • vegetarian
  • reading
  • music
  • live music
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

books: milan kundera, ts eliot.
music: jazz (esp bebop), classical (esp romantic), and a random smattering of bands: Thao, Alabama Shakes, The Kinks
movies/shows: Arrested Development, Peep Show, The Diving Bell and Butterfly, Man on Wire, Wes Anderson movies

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In the southeastern part of Turkey at the Tigris River, we stood in golden wheat fields rustling at the top of a hill, staring out at the old cave houses and ancient Ottoman tombstones. This was the beginning of all civilization.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an English teacher and can teach you English.
I can cook some pretty decent vegetarian food.
I am an avid chocolate aficionado and walk you through taste-testing sessions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I enjoy cooking and will cook dinner for you!

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Denmark, Italy, Lesotho, Nicaragua, Sweden, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Peru, Poland, South Africa, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Doris’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups