Dorothy Wang's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorothy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 48 references 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog; learning Japanese, Sign Language - American
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • ESL/EFL Teacher, education policy researcher
  • TESOL/TEFL, Education Policy for Global Development
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

----------------------------------------------------

ABOUT ME and MY PARTNER
----------------------------------------------------

🙋🏻‍♀️ Hello! こんにちは, 안녕, 你好!
My name is Dorothy...
ドロシー (ドロちゃん)、王露婷(婷婷)、도로시
"Dottie" or "Dot"

To clarify, because some people seem confused... I am American, I was born and raised in the United States. My ethnicity is Chinese (never lived there). I've lived in the Philippines and Japan. Now I live in Barcelona for my masters: Education Policy for Global Development.

I served for two years in the Peace Corps Philippines, batch 273!
I moved to Japan in 2017 and owned an English conversation school for 4 years.
Basically, I left the USA when I was 20 years old and fully intend on never going back. You'll find me literally anywhere else in the world.

I love plants, travel, the ocean, and good food. We both love board games!
Intersectional feminist killjoy ✨ anti-imperialist; anti-capitalist ✨
https://medium.com/@Dot./why-men-are-trash-7576daeb9e7b
--------------------------

🙋🏽‍♂️Hi, my name is Hugo. I'm studying a biological and environmental engineering master and working part time at a biotech company. Always open to a Smash Bros match. Introverted.

Hola, mi nombre es Hugo. Ecuatoriano, haciendo un máster de ingeniería biológica y ambiental y trabajando a medio tiempo en una empresa de biotecnología. Siempre dispuesto a retas de Smash :)

-------------------------
Gentle reminder that CS is not a dating service. Please don't approach me with that intention. I am also not required to be your tour guide (especially if you are not my guest). Not to say I absolutely won't be your tour guide, or that I hate it. I will gladly give you advice and tips on where to go and what to do.
It might sound harsh but a lot of the things I put here are the result of some not so great experiences on here. Please respect me as a person.

IG: dorouu

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Exploring the world, learning languages, swapping stories, and sharing culture. :)

I've had great experiences with Couchsurfing all over the world! I've met amazing people and experienced things I never thought I'd do.

Interests

I love plants. Every place I have lived, I fill it with as many plants as possible.
I'm an artsy crafty person; I paint, sketch, DIY, craft, ceramics, etc... People, landscapes, animals, anything really. I painted a portrait of the Governor of Sorsogon once and he loved it.
(yung dating governor para sa kaarawan niya)
The Philippines is well known for it's love of videoke (aka karaoke) so I'd say I've gotten alright at that too. :)
カラオケに行きましょう!

I love to go scuba diving. I'm rescue dive certified and I want to eventually become a dive master. 我特别喜欢潜水。我最喜欢看到鲨鱼!哈哈。I also like to swim and go to the beach. I am definitely an island child and Moana is my favorite Disney character.

Things I like/collect: plants, bracelets, maps and paper money from around the world.

  • yoga
  • painting
  • karaoke
  • scuba diving
  • language exchange
  • learning languages
  • singing in the shower

Music, Movies, and Books

ALL BOOKS, I love reading.
https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/8764442-dots

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was in Cairo, Egypt the night of the coup d'etat, when President Morsi was taken out of office.

Teach, Learn, Share

My bachelors is in Teaching English to Students of Other Languages (TESOL). People who speak English as their 2nd language often find me easier to understand than other native English speakers.

Besides that... Cooking, art, music. Who knows? You'll learn all about me- Filipino culture, American culture, Chinese culture, and Japanese culture.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food, culture, lots of stories, music. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Ecuador, Japan, Philippines, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorothy’s full profile.

My Groups