Douglas Carnall's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Douglas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 26 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Translator and Editor
  • Sheffield University, Université de Nantes
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm passionate about cycling as urban transport (and touring), open access to the scientific literature, trans-cultural evidence, local food and many other things besides. My work is rather solitary and sedentary, it's a big flat when the kids aren't here, and it's great to welcome interesting people from around the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My parents were members of SERVAS, an international organisation which paired hosts and guests back in the day when this was just about the only way people from behind the Iron Curtain could afford to visit the UK. And we got a lot of Americans too. You had to write a letter! Old school! Conversation with people from all over the world was a great education.

Interests

  • politics
  • cycling
  • languages
  • medicine
  • public administration
  • science
  • language exchange
  • health
  • healthy eating
  • cycle touring
  • publishing

Music, Movies, and Books

Book: La Chute by Albert Camus
Film: Koyaanisqatsi
Music: 50s/60s jazz, 70s disco and funk, punk, free improv

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 1999 I rode my bike from Paris to Brest and back again (1204km) in 84 hours and 53 minutes. It was a bit much actually: about 100 - 150 km/day is more like it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a former UK general practitioner, so if you're interested in health, especially health and active travel...
Urban and long distance cycling advice, bike repairs
Writing, editing and translation
The poetry of Robert Burns
Small business management
French language and culture (though maybe look elsewhere if you want a nice accent ;) )

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a big flat with spare rooms for the kids who are generally with their mums. So I've got a bit of space to welcome people who want to visit Nantes. If you come by bike (always to be preferred), your bike will join mine in the garage overnight. Shared kitchen, bathroom and toilet. I like cooking, and I'll probably cook dinner for you.

Car parking in my neighbourhood is tightly regulated. If you must travel by car, I'd recommend you park up elsewhere and use public transport while you're in Nantes. There's a tram stop right outside my front door.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Douglas’s full profile.

My Groups