Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Landless farmer / student of organic farming
  • Through travelling and activism. I did a degree in chemis...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm trying to move to BC to get a job as a chemist in the cannabis industry!

ABOUT ME

I've been going around to different parts of the world ostensibly looking into the food system (i.e. 'studying the food system ') :-). Sometimes this takes me into labour rights, sometimes dumpster diving, often organic farming, and lots of other stuff along the way. I like to have some sort of mission to guide my travels. Now I'm continuing the journey by trying to get an M.Sc. in Agroecology from a school in Norway, for which I am doing field work in Colorado. I want to study marijuana as a crop.

I like the idea that travelers remember more than they've seen and see more than they remember. Friends made along the way is the best measure of a successful travel, not Locations ticked off, kilometers covered or even photos taken. I am really into photography though :).

PHILOSOPHY

I guess Theraveda Buddhist of the forest monks if I was going to choose a school of philosophy. I wouldn't say I'm buddhist, but I'm really interested in it and meditate frequently after taking a course about it in Thailand. I also like the nature-oriented philosophy of Masanobu Fukuoka (he was Mahayana Buddhist).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've mostly been a surfer and been meeting up with people for coffee or a meal. I've only hosted a few times.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

It is a great way to meet fun people and hang out. I had a great time in Thialand meeting some people from the US and going to Koh Phangan with them. I met some nice hosts in Bangkok, and some very lovely, helpful, trustworthy people in the Sunshine Coast, Australia. I had a surprise visit from a cool guy from Montreal and making some great vegan friends in Ottawa. More recently, I had a great time in Wageningen, in The Netherlands.

Interests

Growing food and other plants, hiking and exploring, vegan food, reading stuff. I like George Orwell, Sherlock Holmes, Satish Kumar, Gandhi, Tolstoy, Vandana Shiva, Charlie Chaplain.

I really like photography, especially political photography and portraits of people. One of my favourite photographers is Alberto Korda.

  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • vegan
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • dumpster diving
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • chemistry
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies by Charlie Chaplin, Crash, The Pianist, The Gods Must Be Crazy, Darwin's Nightmare. I love movies, especially arty film festival ones :). But also there are some amazing action movies I like, for example Looper.

I like the authors Wendell Berry, Fukuoka, Albrecht, Tolstoy, Thoreau, Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr, Assata Shakur, Micheal Ableman, and Elliot Coleman.

I'm getting into Anais Nin because she says fun stuff like this:
"“I am an excitable person who only understands life lyrically, musically, in whom feelings are much stronger as reason. I am so thirsty for the marvelous that only the marvelous has power over me. Anything I can not transform into something marvelous, I let go. Reality doesn't impress me. I only believe in intoxication, in ecstasy, and when ordinary life shackles me, I escape, one way or another. No more walls. -- Anais Nin"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went to a labour rights organizer training in Washington, D.C. It was great to be able to work with other people who were so dedicated to justice.

Teach, Learn, Share

photography, some farming, some computers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Vegan cooking, photography, chemistry (including cannabinoid chemistry).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Germany, India, Israel, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palestine, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Nepal, Norway

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups