Logo orange

James Bolton

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Spanish, Swahili
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Nanny and market trader
  • History degree
  • From Stalybridge, Manchester
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to be happy and spread happiness!

ABOUT ME

Currently driving my motorcycle from London to Rome!

I am an outgoing, laid back guy with a love for discovering new corners of life. I have a lot of energy but I am also able to relax and chill out. I love to surf and travel every opportunity I get. I love talking to and meeting new people, asking questions and finding answers! I like playing around with old cameras, especially old kodaks, and have an ever increasing collection of old wind up gramophones that I restore.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I grew up in a home where we always hosted 'couchsurfers' (years before this site existed!)

I've couchsurfed a lot - not always through this site - and I've just moved onto a canal boat, so I will be able to start hosting people on my boat in London when I return from my travels in August!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couchsurfed in Morocco and had an amazing time - my hosts took me to all the best surfing spots along the coast, as well as cheap tasty eats.

I've also couchsurfed in New York, and got on famously with my host, and had an unbelievable amount of fun. It was hard to leave!

I've also couchsurfed a lot outside of this website - with friends, friends of friends and so on. So I consider myself to be a considerate couchsurfer, respecting the space and needs of my hosts.

I'm from a family (just outside Manchester) who always hosted couch surfers from all over the world, long before this website had been built. I don't have my own home yet, but when I do I will be continuing the tradition!

Interests

music, motorcycling, surfing, mountainbiking, horseriding, trekking/hiking, cooking, games, markets, kayaking, photography, talking, reading, computer games, museums, art, swimming, cycling, antiques, old cameras, gadgets, gizmos, history, politics, exploring, parkour, martial arts, systema, driving, 78s and gramophones, narrowboats

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My uncle is a bit of a badboy, 'cock of the school' my nan used to call him. He took me out in his sidecar on his motorcycle when I was around 8 years old.

But the first time I was on the back of a motorbike was when I was 17, in Kenya. My godbrother (my godparent's son) had a 'piki' (the swahili slang for motorbike, named after the noise the engine makes - pikipikipikipiki).

One day he drove me on his dirtbike piki down into the Rift Valley to chase Zebra. It was the most exhilarating experience I've ever know. He didn't have a helmet that fit me, so I simply clung onto the back of this 14-year-old kid while he revved down the mountainside.

I've taken every chance to ride a motorbike since, despite several attempts to put me off by motorcycle thieves...

Countries I've Visited

Cuba, France, Germany, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Mauritius, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Uganda, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Kenya, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see James's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile