Clarence Brooks's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Clarence’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 69 References 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 57, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Educator/Entertainment
  • MFA in dance (UW), BPA in dance (OCU), Laban/Bartenieff I...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

One of the first things I did when I joined CS (back in the days before it became corporate), was get verified - verified address via postcard, verified phone via email; verified identity via donation. All of that was voided even though I am still in the same location - STRANGE! Back then verification was FREE! Now they want $20 to reinstate what they took away - my verified status which I had for my first five (5) years.

Summer 2016 I traveled up I-95 north throughout the New England states into Quebec City, Quebec, Canada. Lots of camping, hiking, kayaking, hosteling, and more. As a fellowship recipient (a scholarship for professors), I enjoyed 21 days in Japan in June studying Butoh!

CURRENT MISSION
Dance though life.
Get out in nature.
Get exposed to new, different, and other perspectives.

ABOUT ME
I am a dancer, choreographer, and professor.
I feel so very wealthy because I have my health.
I educate my mind and my body.

I have lived or worked in all but 10 states.
I have two degrees in dance and two certifications, but I did not graduate from high school.

I love, Love, LOVE nature and am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, biking, kayaking, camping, beaches, and more). But I also really, Really, REALLY adore big city life and culture (museums, galleries, restaurants, dance concerts, symphonies, etc.).

Yoga is my solace and balm. After three plus decades of yoga practice, I finally completed a 30-day intensive yoga teacher training and am now a certified yoga teacher - YAY!

I blend vegetarian and vegan diets and love traditional foods from around the world. Fear not, you can be a carnivore around me; I will share my veggies with you.

I wear clothes when I am in public - well, most of the time. I love, Love, LOVE Haulover Beach (always rated in the top 10 in the world) and Blind Creek Beach, our clothing optional beaches.

My roommate is sometimes active on CS. You can checkout David's profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/1004158630
He is a pastry chef, Flamenco dancer, and Bikram yoga teacher. He is also bilingual (Spanish and English). If/when our schedules allow, when he is not catering some big event, we can host; but I have to clear all requests with him since guests would be sharing his bathroom.

We are both openly gay.
We love straight people because we both love, Love, LOVE our straight families (parents & siblings), our straight friends, our straight colleagues, and our straight extended family members. We especially like straight people when they are themselves - happy and gay (LOL). You get the picture; we are very, VERY sociable peeps and we just LOVE people.

PHILOSOPHY
I smile ALOT! It's a disease I am doing my very best to spread. In many cases (and over time), it has proven to be quite infectious and quite contagious. I say, "Submit! Resistance is futile!"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I hope to meet you out on the roads and byways when I am out touring, hiking, biking, camping, sightseeing, and kayaking.

I am a true urbanite who happens to thrive in rural, primitive, natural environs.

I host and surf. I love spreading the word about this organization.

My very first surfing experience was with a gracious couple in CT.

My first surfer returned for a second visit. I was as proud as a mother hen to have a guest return. Unfortunately, his back went out and he was supine and in agony on guest bathroom floor for most of his last day.

I hosted my first WarmShowers cross country bicyclist (Seattle to Key West). My second WSer biked from Ottawa to Key West.

The summer of 2013 was the summer of my dreams. I took a four month road trip around the USA and Canada; summer 2014 was southeastern Canada and the New England states; summer 2015 was the great southwest; winter 2015 was Hawaii - Couchsurfing, camping, hiking, biking, kayaking, sightseeing, dancing, yoga-ing (Is that even a word? - LOL), etc. Every summer I pick a different area of the country to explore. Summer 2017, I am seeing family in OK, AZ, and CA as well as exploring western Canada.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
A friend told me about this site and I am so glad to be a part of this wonderful organization.

Another friend told me about Warmshowers.org, similar to CS but for long distance bikers. So I have a profile there, too, with the same name.

Interests

I enjoy the fine and performing arts as a patron and participant (especially dance).

I would never suffer anyone to eat my cooking, but I do love food.

I love my Prius but I much prefer my bike and my kayak.

The first chance I get to be out in nature, I'm gone; hence, the blackout dates.

  • arts
  • culture
  • performing arts
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • ballet dancing
  • chocolate
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • teaching
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • vegetarian food
  • bicycling
  • vegan food
  • choreography
  • sight seeing

Music, Movies, and Books

Women of jazz, classical music, world music, instrumental music, biographies, NPR, PBS, BBC, Prairie Home Companion, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, nature shows, art galleries, museums, theatres, mountains, valleys, bodies of water, savannahs, independent/foreign movies, and people watching.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have lived or worked in all but 10 states in the USA.

I took 4 months to complete a road trip around the nation one summer. Now it has become my annual summer vacation.

Danced with more than 50 dance companies or arts institutions. Celebrated my 37th anniversary as a dancer (2017) - and I am still performing.

I had to learn to walk a second time.

I was the opening act for a fundraising concert with the incomparable Pearl Bailey and her husband Louis Bellson.

Okay, so that's more than one - LMBAOOL!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a professor, dancer, and choreographer. My expertise is in ballet and modern dance. But through my natural eclecticism, I incorporate any idioms that come within my kinesphere. I am also an educator and I love, Love, LOVE to teach. I love, Love, LOVE to learn.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer the living room sofa as a bed with sheets and a pillow in the living room - the central room of the apartment. It's perfect for shorter guests; taller guests might bring a sleeping bag.

I can also offer:
- Free WiFi
- Kitchen access (eat what you see; share what you have; clean up after yourself)
- Bathroom access (clean up after yourself)
- Laundry detergent ($1 in quarters to wash; $1 in quarters to dry or air drying is free)
- Dance class(es) in the dance program
- Performance (if my students or I are performing)

Good conversation. Maybe some good ol' fashioned sage advice and anecdotes (my famous lies).

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bermuda, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    8 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Clarence’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups