Marcel Ackermann's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Chinese (Simplified), French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Machine Learning, Computer Scientist
  • Masters
  • From Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi,

my name is Marcel and currently my biggest interest is machine learning, which is basically teaching machines to find patterns in data. My goal is to create machines that do the mundane tasks, so that humans can do more in their life of what they actually enjoy and want.
I love learning, that's why I have been organizing several meetups in the past, bringing people together and study together. Besides learning ML, math and so on I also like personal development and am an active member of the LessWrong community. It's a community focused on realizing the best version of yourself.
My favourite vacation types are on the one hand learning-centred such as conferences, workshops, barcamps, academies and on the other hand active, for example I love snowboarding, skiing and kitesurfing. I want to try canyoning and surfing next :)
For relaxation I enjoy sci-fi tv shows, political cabaret and board games. I've played the piano and the clarinet for a long time in my life and will pick that up again when it's the right time.

Interests

running, inline-skating, snowboarding, kite surfing, ski, piano, clarinet, reading, learning, machine learning, board games, sci-fi, fantasy, political comedy, personality development, LessWrong

  • running
  • board games
  • reading
  • tv
  • piano
  • kite surfing
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • computer science
  • mathematics
  • science
  • statistics

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Gödel, Escher, Bach -- An Eternal Golden Braid, Otherland

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hosting a three hour gameshow for an audience of 4000 people

Teach, Learn, Share

Computer Science, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Mathematics, Statistics

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups