Logo orange

David Reed

Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student of life.
  • No education listed
  • From Bournemouth, Dorset, England
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn Spanish, travel, meet people, (maybe get a degree...)

ABOUT ME

I am a confident, smart, out-going student of life, the world and everything. People who known me best have seen my dark sense of humour, and know me to have a sensitive soul and an open mind. My natural habitat is the beach.

At university I was very involved in campaigns, charity and activism - and I got switched on to issues of social justice, the importance of community, and methods of making these things happen in the world. My dream in life is to start a social enterprise, or work for a great charity. I'm currently learning Spanish and getting experience by volunteering, interning and working in local government.

I have a beautiful, amazing girlfriend who I love madly - but seem to spend a lot of time in a different part of the world to her. She's my best friend, and we talk for hours on skype.

I also write poetry, articles and fiction. I love music and films, and am very curious and open minded in my tastes and what I like.

PHILOSOPHY

Never be offended. Never be ashamed.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

In the summer of 2010, in Spain, I made my first steps into this incredible community of beautiful people. Wow. Never have I been so overwhelmed by human kindness and generosity, or more fired up to really meet people, to really experience other lives and most importantly to GIVE everything. The reality of this website is so much more extraordinary than it could ever seem possible; what we have here is precious, and what we have is each other.

I feel such a profound debt already and desperately want to pass it on in every way I can.

Interests

Travelling & hitch-hiking, dreaming, literature & films, languages, photography & art, creative writing & poetry, politics, music, good food and interesting new people.

I've made short films and worked (unpaid) on a feature film. I'm a pretty damn good skier. I like writing fiction and poetry.

I'm a university student, but I can't wait to finish my degree so that I can start learning.

Music, Movies & Books

Books:
Grapes of Wrath, The God of Small Things, The English Patient. In fact, anything by Michael Ondaatje, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, John Steinbeck, Cormac McCarthy. I love theatre of the absurd, especially Albee and Beckett. My favourite poets are Bukowski, W.B. Yeats and Coleridge.
Films:
3-Iron, Magnolia, 2046, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Casablanca, Pan's Labyrinth.
My favourite directors are,
PT Anderson, Wong Kar Wai, Pedro Almodovar, Werner Herzog, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Wes Anderson, Kubrick.

Music:
I have an extremely eclectic and unpretentious taste in all kinds of music - but I have a particular love of 70s music, and the Strokes.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

- Sandboarding down 300-metre high mountains of sand in Haucachina.
- Seeing a city in the sky at the top of Wayna Picchu.
- The impossible surreality of the Uynui Salt Flats.
- Wandering cities at night - where every streetlight frames a street performance or a visual poem that no-one understands but you.
- Getting lost in a ghost town on the border between Brazil and Uruguay - 2am - only to get picked up by a group of drunk lads with dirtbikes immediately intent on showing me a good time.
- Every mad minute of Buenos Aires. Go there.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Peru, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see David's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile