Daniel Sont's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, German, Japanese, Urdu
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Software Developer
  • Bachelor of Computer Science, Carleton University
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Daniel Sont. I fell in love with exploring the world sometime in the middle of university. So, I studied Mandarin and flew to China. When I got there, I couchsurfed for a few weeks, until I was connected with a person running his own startup. I immediately joined his startup, and built websites with him!

I love building tech startups, and I love travelling. Luckily, I can do both at once! I am a digital nomad!

I work for a company in the United States, but I work from home (my office is badass :p). So if you were going to couchsurf to me, I would be at home a lot of the time, otherwise I might be hopping around to different coffee shops, or coworking spaces.

I'm a geek, and I geek out about everything I do :)

Finally, I love to make many new friends from all over the globe with couchsurfing, and be a part of the local couchsurfing community.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I used couchsurfing when travelling to China, and Japan. I've had positive experiences, and made a lot of good friends doing so. It really launches me into a social life in the place I am visiting.

Now, I have a place and it's my turn to host. :)

Interests

I love to learn everything around me! I especially enjoy learning languages. I am actively learning Urdu, but I am also interested in learning some more Chinese or Japanese if I get the chance.

I am passionate about entrepreneurship, and want to start a successful tech business one day. So I read tons of books about the subject, and work remotely from home for a startup.

  • culture
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • technology
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • sports
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • languages
  • science
  • startups

Music, Movies, and Books

I like awesome electric guitar music, rock, metal, and looove all sorts of electronic music. I tend to dislike most mainstream music, and most music on the radio. Eww. Just eww. *barph*

The books I read are mostly non-fiction, so I'm boring in that category.

I don't usually watch TV, but when I do, I watch Stargate.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't like to brag, but everything I do is amazing. :D hahaha

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to connect over languages, cultures, travel experiences, music, drinks, or whatever you like. I really enjoy hearing about peoples travels, and am super curious, and can be a very keen listener.

Also, if you teach me how to cook things that would be awesome!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you some English, and I can teach you some things about other languages too. But my mother tongue is English.

I could teach you some things about fitness, and health.

I could teach you some things on guitar, or piano.

I'm an awful cook, so you have to teach me how to cook :) My food is so boring, but also healthy.

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, Germany, Japan, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups