Logo orange

Dan McCracken

Orlando, Florida, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 20 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Zookeeper at Animal Kingdom
  • B.A. Zoology
  • From Anna, Ohio United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Discover the World

ABOUT ME

I am a tree-hugging, veg-eating, bike-riding, animal-loving, thrift store-frequenting life liver.

Currently I am living in Orlando, but have aspirations to move to a more cultured, larger city such as any in the Pacific Northwest, San Fran, Chicago, or NYC. I am all about local stuff, although I work at one of the largest multinational corporations (Disney) and am starting a part time gig delivering subs by bike for Jimmy Johns. I work with the hippos and rhinos at Animal Kingdom, so if the exhibits look like shit, you can blame me i guess. I am pretty easy to get along with and like to laugh at jokes and be engaged in conversations with others.

PHILOSOPHY

I am a pretty low drama person, like to live life, have fun, and experience new things.

I don't believe in religion or the super natural, but in personal spirituality and the connection to the people we interact with and our environment. The Buddhists have it right with Karma, do good things and good things will happen.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I absolutely love couch surfing, my friend suggested that i give it a try for when i go traveling to save money and meet new people. It's all about karma: I am up for hosting on my weekends, and if I'm ever in need of a place to stay hopefully you will be able to host me as well.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed in Chicago (love that place, and one day want to call it home), surfed in Gainesville, hosted travelers from all over the world, met great people and discussed their experiences.

Interests

Biking, animals, good food, good sights, reading, hiking, going to thrift stores, COFFEE, the environment, vegetarian cooking, composting, traveling, going to concerts, home brewing, co-ops, socialized...everything.

Music, Movies & Books

I like both comedy and horror movies (kind of bipolar lol), I listen to alternative and indie rock; not a country fan at all. Enjoy reading books by Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and Christopher Hitchens. I also like reading books on the environment, and animals in it.

Music listening to right now: Naked and Famous, Phantogram, The Submarines, Winter Gloves, David Bazan, Of Montreal, Say Hi, Crystal Castles, Parades, The New Pornographers, The National, The Joy Formidable, and many many others

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I got hit by a car on my bike (twice) and lived!

Teach, Learn, Share

Please don't use your stay with others as a glorified free hotel room. Share stories, experiences and skills. Get to know your host and surfers, learn the local area/scene and please know there are other things to do in Orlando besides Disney and Universal.

I can teach you where all my favorite hangouts are. I can get you a mix of my favorite bands from iTunes. I can teach you a thing or two about fixing a bike. I can have detailed discussions about religious and philosophical subjects. I also like to learn new things from you.

Countries I've Visited

United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile