Dustin Main's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dustin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 33 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Burmese, French
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Entrepreneur / Technology, Documentary Photography
  • Computer Science, Management
  • From Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Traveling around the world since 2009, taking pictures, meeting people, looking for my next challenge... while eating a lot of ice cream.

ABOUT ME

My work had been a big part of my life, but a trip to Tanzania in June 2008 really did change the way I looked at life. In 2009 I began traveling around the world (which I'm still doing).

Now, I'm location independent, and starting up new businesses and doing documentary photography work in places like Myanmar and Iran.

I'm pretty laid back, and not much of a "party" guy. I like hanging out with really interesting people & prefer small groups rather than large meetups.

Along the way I'd like learn to play the piano.

PHILOSOPHY

Do the things most people just talk about doing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I learned about CS as I was planning my (first) round the world trip in early 2009.

Since then, I've surfed in ~10 different countries, been to countless meetups (in probably 20 countries), and traveled with a bunch of people I've met through groups.

When I get back to Canada, I host.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been to meetups back in Saskatoon, a bunch in New Zealand including the fantastic Tongariro Alpine Crossing meetup in Turangi Jan 2010. Meetups in Saskatoon, Christchurch, Auckland, Sydney, Hobart, Kuala Lumpur, Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan, Hoi An, Siem Reap, Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Cairo, Prague, Berlin, Helsinki, Buenos Aires, Trollhattan, Tórshavn, Nyaungshwe, Yangon, Seattle, Wellington, Kalaw...

CS has led me to meet some amazing people, and some of my best friends.

Interests

I love hiking & trekking, especially in the mountains. Photography, film, music. Computers and other tech eat up some of my time. Always up for a new challenge.

My travel / photography website is www.dustinmain.com and I am also the co-founder of a "Technology for Travelers" website called www.toomanyadapters.com as well as the creative lead of the photography collective "Lightmoves Creative."

I also lead specialty tours in Myanmar that are based around the documentary work I've been doing there since 2011.

  • photography
  • hiking
  • independent cinema
  • digital nomad

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a lot of jazz, nu-jazz, downtempo, lounge music. On the pop end of things, I've got a serious soft spot for Everything But the Girl.

I enjoy a lot of indie movies & documentaries. I want them to make me think.

My favorite films are Fargo, Eyes Wide Shut and Rear Window.

I've recently been reading:
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking, The $100 Startup, Predictably Irrational, SuperFreakonomics, Outliers, No Logo, The Long Tail, Free: The Future of a Radical Price, & My Custom Van... and 50 Other Mind Blowing Essays That Will Blow Your Mind All Over Your Face

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hiked for 5 days and 70km in the Canadian Rocky mountains in a school girl dress for charity.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm great with technology
I'm a photographer
I run several businesses

I can (barely) juggle 3 juggling balls. Not even enough to fall back on as a circus clown though. If you're thinking of a future in Clown College, I may be able to give you a tutorial at the preschool level, or amuse you for a minute or 3.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Ice cream, stories, and help with businesses.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Jordan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Canada, Germany, Myanmar, Sweden, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Dustin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups