Mark Walgemoet's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 17 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile.

Overview

  • 127 references 115 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning Spanish
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Destination Product Manager
  • MSc
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME
Born in The Netherlands, I am currently living in my 11th country!

What can I say? I am the eternal traveller! I even made it my profession! I was on the road for 7 years as a Tour Leader and have been able to show people some of my beloved countries, travel in between to some of my favourite destinations and meet some great people along the way! I finally ended up in Valencia!Although I am not Spanish (and not yet speak the language), I am happy to show you around if I have time or give suggestions on what to do or see.

I now live with my boyfriend and when staying with me, you will also meet him. We both like to make new friends but are not really into the party scene.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe in what all great religions have in common: be kind to each other, help other people in need, take care of your environs. What goes around, comes around!

My place is open to everyone who is open-minded towards all kinds of people. As a gay man, I host people from all walks of life, whether they be straight, queer, black, white, Muslim or Christian. I will not tolerate disrespect of or intolerance for what people are. Kindness goes a long way :). In saying that, I have adopted a dog from a shelter. He is easy going and friendly but, unfortunately, if you are allergic to or scared of dogs it might be problematic to stay. Lastly, my place is clothing optional.

Pleased use the word Zen in your request, so I know you have read my profile and are OK with my lifestyle and the dog.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love helping people and anyone needing advise on travelling, especially in the countries where I have lived and worked feel free to ask.

Interests

Travel is my biggest passion, but when I am not travelling I love to chill out with a good book, watch a good movie or spend time with friends. Whether that be over a beer, over a nice dinner or somewhere on the beach. They say your friends are the family you choose and I believes this is entirely true. Rarely can I have all my friends in the same place, but I take every opportunity to spend with them, wherever they are in the world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My entire life so far has been an amazing journey. I have had opportunities that very few people ever get. Whether it was living in Moscow, spending a week on a boat in Indonesia without showers and beds (but with sharks) or surviving a thunderstorm in Kakadu National Park....

What I Can Share with Hosts

A sofa, clean sheets, towels, hot water, WiFi and all the advice you would like.
I try to spend time with my guests as much as I can and if they want.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Egypt, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Cambodia, Croatia, Egypt, Germany, Hungary, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile.

My Groups