Dietrich Kayser's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dietrich’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I am a student, one who studies.
  • a wee bit
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

lookin for rockin chair memories. Memories that when I am old I can look back on and be like "Damn that was fun"

ABOUT ME

Most of the time I write these about me's I am doing it for a job or academic application. However, I am imagining this one should be a little different. If I had to describe myself in a few words it would be curious, rational, and social. I have been told by others that I over analyze things, but I am not sure that that is possible. Understanding as much as I can about the world and people around me is a goal of mine. While I about my work and learning, I keep my life balanced with humor, excercise/sport, and typical social activities.... Oh and I like beer.

PHILOSOPHY

I really like being where I am. My goal is to enjoy my time and use my gifts to improve my world for the next round of people to come.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

well, as you can see from my profile, I have not had many couch surfing experiences. During my semester abroad in Northern Ireland, I tried many times to use the program but was not successful and actually grew quite frustrated with having people deny requests I put time and effort into making. However, I found myself in in a tight spot in Amsterdam one day, as there were now available rooms for the night that I could afford. I was not looking forward to spending another night in the train station. I came to learn that their was a couchsurfing meet up at a local bar and hoped that I could find someone there to take me home. By the end of the night I found a new friend and savior. Not only did my host give me a nice place to stay for the night, but he also gave me a locals tour of the city the next day and discussed we me the differences in our cultures. It was a great experience and one that kept me from giving up on this community.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have attended one gathering in Amsterdam and surfed one night.

Interests

One of my simplist forms of joy come from getting a new fact of form of knowledge, anything from science to local slang. I also really enjoy the outdoors. At home in America I flyfish, do a bit of hiking, cycle, and hunt. Excercise is also a form of release for me. In addition to my outdoor activities, I enjoy lifting weights and cruising around on my bike. Lastly, I just really like people. I really like trying to understand the differences we all have and enjoy trying to get someone to smile or open up a bit.

  • beer
  • coffee
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rowing
  • chemistry
  • science
  • food
  • learning new things
  • margaritas

Music, Movies, and Books

Im a big movie fan. My favorite types of movies are those with action and comic relief, but if a movie is well made I'll enjoy it. Some of my favorites are Butch Casedy and the Sundance kid, Shawshank Redemption, Hero, and Sweetland. As far as music I listen to a variety and havent made my own playlist in years. I don't read enough and I know it. It isn't that I don't enjoy it, it is just that I am not good at prioritizing it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

awe struck.... hmmmm honestly, I am not one who has freqent moments of emotional magnitude, so this is coming as a bit of a challenge for me.

Teach, Learn, Share

So I guess this is the job application portion lol. As far as practical skills go, I am pretty knowledgeable when it comes to bicycles. I used to be really active with cycling and my family even owned a bike shop in the US for three years. I am actually a certified bicycle mechanic, yes that exists. More simply, I am a hard worker and strong. I actually enjoy manual labor. In a couch surfing setting these are the only special skills I have that I think might distinguish me from another.
Learn: Right now a major goal of mine is to learn how to travel and get the maximum experience out of every place to visit. Aside from that, I am a super curious person and am pretty much interested in learning anything.

Countries I’ve Visited

Ireland, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dietrich’s full profile. It’s free!