Dylan Chang's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dylan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning German, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • SupplyChainManagement
  • International Economic Law
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am working and living in Mexico for a multinational company in automobile area, I am based in Toluca from Monday to Friday, it is a capital city of State of Mexico, it takes 45 minutes by car from Metepec to Mexico City, I go to Mexico City in most of the weekend to meet friends and explore some city life. I am still a city guy, lol

I adopted my lovely girl, a mexican dog since I've settled down myself here, she is 2 years old and a super active dog, she is my family member with full access to every room of my house, we go for mountain hiking together. Actually it is sad to see that there're still many people especially from the middle class and above still buying dogs with the popular breeds, a lot of them just want to show off to their friends, but they do not really treat them as family member, I support the local animal adoption organization to help dogs from the street to look for a permanent house, try to spread the mindset of #adoption instead of buying# to the local community.

I like to learn and explore different cultures, that's the major motivation of traveling to different countries and continents, stay with locals and meet up local communities, instead of checking in tourism spot, I prefer to set up an regular agenda like a local for a few days in the city I am visiting.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started to travel with Couchsurfing in 2015 when it was my first travel to Sweden, the experience I had was to travel with airbnb, hostel and regular hotel in the past, I read one article about Couchsurfing from a magazine on the plane, and that's how I created my own profile, I was not confident to get any hosts without any reviews or experience at that time, cannot tell how excited I was when my first host, a very nice Swedish lady sent me an offer to host me on the way when I flew to Stockholm, since then, I got addicted to couchsurfing.
actually Airbnb in the past also gave me plenty of good experiences with my hosts or guests, however, I find it is getting more and more common that the host is just renting the house or flat as a business, you barely see the host during the stay, it does not make any difference than living in a hotel.
I have made so many amazing people from either being a visitor or host on couchsurfing, as well as just meet people, many of us have become very good friends and still stay in touch today.

Interests

I like to do outdoor activities, there're several volcanoes in the central of Mexico, I join in the local hiking groups from couchsurfing, internations, facebook or just do it with several friends.
Meeting people by couchsurfing is also one of the inspiring thing to exchange the travel experiences, talk about cultures and politics.
I always want to create my own business or start with a partnership, more than happy to have any brainstorming discussion about creative business ideas.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • culture
  • working out
  • partying
  • politics
  • reading
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • sports
  • business
  • international relations
  • adventure travel
  • food

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

sole travel to the forest in the Arctic Circle
Travel to Morocco and Nepal
Mountain hiking in a monthly basis in Mexico
Actually made the decision and moved from Shanghai to Mexico is the most amazing thing I have done and I’ve never regretted about it.

I continue to be a volunteer to offer my help as much as possible throughout my lifetime, I used to support red cross for HIV education and prevention program, children with autism, and being a volunteer over 10 years in Junior Achievement which is a non-profit organization for education.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you want to know more about the country I've lived and visited, we will have plenty of topics to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Germany, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see Dylan’s full profile.

My Groups