Dylann Golbeck's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dylann’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student and Musician
  • Bachelor degree in Zoology with a minor in music
  • From Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm from Calgary, Canada. I work as a server and barista and study zoology and music in university. I love anything and everything music related and dig acting. I love being outdoors, doesn't matter how cold it is. I love painting, sewing, writing and anything crafty really. I love to hike, camp and climb (Although I still have never gone lead climbing- something I really want to learn to do). Always down to try something new, whether it's a new art form, new sport, new food, or a new adventure! I love cooking for myself and others and eating with other people. Food is one of life's great pleasures for sure. =)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hey! I'm a student from Canada taking a gap semester before my final year in my bachelors degree program. I was living in Glasgow for a one semester exchange program and now I'm backpacking in Europe for 6 months. I'm on couchsurfing because I want to meet and make friends around the world, I want to hear what people love to do in their own cities and towns and I want to share my adventure with new friends!

Interests

  • writing
  • poetry
  • acting
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • crafts
  • reading
  • painting
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • philosophy
  • film photography
  • climbing
  • improv
  • sewing
  • wild camping
  • openmics

Music, Movies, and Books

I grew up loving and listening to everything classic rock, especially Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Queen, Janice Joplin, The Who, The Beatles, CCR and many more.

I love music from most genre's but I have a soft spot for ambient music (Brian Eno is a genius), post-rock, psychedelic, jazz, folk, shoegaze and experimental music.

I am a major Tolkein fan, anything Lord of The Rings related is awesome to me. Same with Star Wars. I also dig Doctor Who, X-files, Freaks and Geeks and anything from Studio Ghibli or by Wes Anderson. But Cloud Atlas is probably my favourite film.

It's hard to pinpoint a favourite author. I dig works by authors from the beat generation (Kerouac is lovely). I love Aldous Huxley and similar sci-fi or futuristic novels. I do also read poetry and philosophy (Kant has been really interesting me lately).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I had never gone caving before this year and it really was the most incredible thing I've ever done. It was so much fun repelling down waterfalls and looking at gorgeous underground caverns and waterfalls. Sliding down underground streams like they were water slides and taking in some of the most breathtaking views of my life. You crawl out from underground at the end of the day with your face sore from smiling, tired and satisfied, absolutely soaked head to toe with muddy boots and gloves. One of the best experiences of my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach figure skating (or skating in general) as I trained competitively for the majority of my life and taught little kids to skate back home. I also can teach guitar scales/chords and theory, but I'm still improving myself. I longboard a lot and would love to board with someone. I can run guided meditation sessions. I'm trying to teach myself embroidery right now. I do a lot of improvised theatre and can always teach different improv games to play too! =) I'm always down to learn from other musicians or artists, learn a new recipe, and I would really love to learn a new language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share lots of stories and improv games. I can share my guitar (and teach chords and music theory) that I am travelling with and my water colour paints. I usually travel with a book and I love to book swap with people. I can tie hair wraps and make dreads and run meditation sessions. I can also share my embroidery supplies.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Dylann’s full profile. It’s free!