Logo orange

E-Ping Rau

Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see E-Ping's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French, German, Hakka Chinese, Japanese, Taiwanese, Turkish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Exchange student
  • University
  • From Hualien, Taiwan
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

acquiring decent German and Turkish level before I go to Germany and Turkey :D

ABOUT ME

I can be a little bit introvert at first, but once I get to know other people I warm up pretty well and I enjoy conversations, even in-depth discussions of various topics. I'm easygoing, not overly meticulous about details or a control-freak, though I do like to do some research beforehand, as I don't like wasting time on feeling lost and puzzled in an unfamiliar environment. (I do like to wander blind into area and discover new things in an unplanned manner, I just have to make sure that I can make it back anyhow)

I just love to read and thinking about so many things, but I always feel like I should act more to actively change the world we're in, but well, everyone's doing their best... for now :)

PHILOSOPHY

Stay true to yourself.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

For now I mainly seek places to stay ; I will be able to host once I go back to Taiwan and have a decent place on my own.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I don't have much experience yet; when I traveled with my bf to Marseille and Barcelona we made use of a bit of airbnb service and stayed at other people's apartment room for a low charge, and it was a good experience with warm and welcoming people. I relied on couchsurfing on my trips to the Netherlands, Berlin and Reims, and it was so good having people to talk to who are also into traveling and exploring new things! Unfortunately I wasn't able to find a host when I went to Lyon, but in the end I found someone willing to host me for the night at a local LGBT association. :p

Interests

I love traveling, cycling, nature, photography, and I'm a big language/linguistics buff. I sometimes lead a quite sedentary lifestyle: reading and (unfortunately) surfing the internet lots of the time. I do enjoy the outdoors, however: strolling in the parks & woods, along the river or the beach.....I'm passionate about ecology, biodiversity and evolution etc (as it's my main field of study), and I practice plant identification as a past-time (most of the plants I know are in Taiwan and I'm pretty useless in Europe, haha, but will probably be able to identify some major families) I love to bicycle : it's an awesome invention that combines the function of transport, tourism and sport. Sometimes I take bicycle trips too, it feels great to be all alone and wide awake, connecting the environment to the core of your body. On the other hand, I also enjoy going to night clubs, mainly for the sake of dancing, as any good trance/techno/dance/pop/rock music gets me moving on my feet, and dancing is another way for me to release myself.

Music, Movies & Books

Mainly European/French movies, such as Amélie, Lola Rennt, Lilja 4 ever; also some American films like Stranger than Fiction.

Almost all sorts of music ranging from techno/trance, folk to world music, but mainly concentrated on various forms of rock : indie rock, post-rock, metal, pop rock, hard rock...

My reading interests are eclectic as well: to cite some of my favorite literature authors : Haruki Murakami, Jostein Gaarder, John Irving, Milan Kundera...and definitely Antoine de Saint-Exupéry !

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I traveled around Taiwan on bicycle with my friends in summer 2011, it was amazing.

The Paris-Reims trip, halfway on train and halfway on bike, was another major achievement too! Didn't realize the Forêt de Reims part to be so tricky. :p

Teach, Learn, Share

Language and linguistics are really my great passion : I could talk about it for days. :p

I would love to get more familiar with history, architecture, city plan and development of various places.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

France, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see E-Ping's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile