Alana Stanley's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alana’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 37 References 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Korean, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Searcher
  • Lil college here, lil college there
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make creativity a lifestyle. Boulder as much as possible.

ABOUT ME

I'm a lover of the land.

PHILOSOPHY

Try all things. Keep it salty. It’s not that serious.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I took a road trip across the country and back from January to July 2012, and had it not been for CS I would have neeeeeever made it! Since then I have hosted at my lil abode and surfed a couple times. Now recently in 2015/2016 I used CS in Iceland, Spain, Germany, the UK and S. Korea with many an adventure in between! Couchsurfing has been such a light in the midst of the uncertain darkness that can come with traveling.

It's been a great experience learning that not all people in the world or on the internet are bad people. Most everyone deep down wants to look out for their fellow humans, and it's heartwarming to see.

Interests

Climbing, arts of sorts, and languages are my constants. I also strive to be vegan, so I feel like that's worth mentioning. Drawing, watercolor, crochet, pottery wheel, farming, road biking, sustainability/environment, listening and making music, playing the spoons and melodica, philosophy, mind-expansion, experiences, wandering. I also *love* badminton.

Practicarás español conmigo? Eso espero! Estoy un hispanohablante intermedio y quiero estar mejor en la idioma :) Hablo lentamente así que se amable conmigo por favor ;) Vamos tener divertidos!

안냥하세요!!! (Mi español es mucho más mejor que mi coreano. )

(Only things I can think of that don't interest me are gory movies and lengthy viewings of most sports)

  • arts
  • design
  • graphic design
  • dancing
  • environment
  • vegan
  • crafts
  • movies
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • pottery
  • drawing
  • bouldering
  • music
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • badminton
  • languages
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

All kinds of music, but I like ambient, electronic, jazz, world, and oldies best. Some of my favorite musicians: Bibio, Boards of Canada, Aphex Twin, Blockhead, Bonobo, Black Dice, Tame Impala, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Melody's Echo Chamber, Death Grips, Badbadnotgood, Syd Arthur, Modeselektor, Stephen Farris, Toro y Moi

I am a lover of animated movies and cartoons! My readings are articles on the internet.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Obama's Inauguration. It was a massive crowd that I don't know if I'll ever experience again, not to mention a wild historical moment in itself.

Dancing in a Hopi Summer Solstice Ceremony, where we danced in a knot pattern for as long as we could from sunset to sunrise, followed by an intense sweat lodge ceremony the next day. You do not need drugs to alter your state of mind. Turned out the guy was a fraud and not accepted in the Hopi community, but I didn't die or anything!

Helped save my friend from getting hypothermia while kayaking in Flateyri. Thank goodness it all worked out.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can talk to you about all sorts of arts and crafts. I have formally studied graphic design and plant/soil science, so there's also that. I like sustainability, alternative lifestyles, and things of the like. Lets talk about it? I also have a big thing for music searching, so let's trade musics! I'm a rookie climber, but if you've never been I can definitely teach you some essentials.

What I Can Share with Hosts

The slew of things listed above it what I can share with you. I am down to do almost anything with you, so I'm and excellent exploring buddy. I always carry around extra TP, so I'm your best in an emergency haha. Most importantly I offer friendship :)

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Iceland, Morocco, Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Alana’s full profile. It’s free!