Logo orange

Lau Barnes

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

85% response rate · Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lau's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student and Web Developer
  • RMIT University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

After living overseas, I have moved back to Melbourne and now living on my own in Richmond. I just graduated from University and I am a freelancer. So sometimes I am quite busy with work, or with my volunteer stuff.

ABOUT ME

I should also point out that I am a naturalist, and am becoming very involved in the nudist life style. I am also a volunteer at a big nudist festival out side of Melbourne, which can keep me busy over the summer period.

Things I have done as a nudist include festivals, camping, swim nights, dance parties, house parties, lakes, beaches, bike rides, hikes and as many things I can do naked.

I follow the German's FKK movement which "endorses a naturistic approach to sports and community" and "joy of the experience of nature or also of being nude itself, without direct relationship to sexuality"
An Australian studying a year abroad in Berlin. I am heading back to Melbourne for my last semester of study in the middle of January, 2014.

I have just finished studying Comp Science & Multimedia / Photography. I am a big fan of live bands, more than happy to travel around the world to stalk a band and be a crazy fan. As a 'student' of photography I also like to visit strange, different unique locations. I try to be a tourist, as well as an explorer. Or some corny and stupid shit like that.

I am not a big party person, I enjoy having a big night out now and again. For me, a great night out is seeing a live band, checking out a few good bars, hanging out with close friends and having a random adventure. Doesn't help that I cannot dance. I'm also more a day time person. I love to go camping, swimming at the beach (or a lake) and hiking.

PHILOSOPHY

Just because its different and makes you feel unconformable doesn't mean its bad. Trying to be more relaxed and do stupid and fun stuff because that what life is about.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

First time couch surfer. Meet a lot of people at hostels who has recommended it so I would like to join the exciting and random world of CS.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am yet to host, but I am hoping one day soon to change that. I have stayed on a few couches on my travels. But most of the time I am usually at hostels. I have meet a bunch of couch surfers and have had the pleasure of showing a few CS around Berlin, taking them out to bars, parties and showing them around town.

Interests

I am really bad at filling out these things, instead I would rather be sitting on a beach, reading a book, hiking in a forest and chasing waterfalls. Going to see a band play, or to a music festival. Swimming in a pool and doing laps, going for a bike ride around the city, taking photographs, watching some awesome television or exploring black comedy humor show / theater / books.

Music, Movies & Books

Big fan of Australian Indie Music. And rock bands. If you know what Triple J is, that sums me up. Films I love. Into the Wild and Marry and Max. Television shows I enjoy would include Daria, Strangers with Candy, Venture Brothers, Adult Swim Cartoons, and anything by Joss Wheldom

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Back packing by myself around Europe for 5 months was the most amazing thing I have done. I had a euro rail pass and just constantly moving around, meeting new people, going to amazing locations and just having a blast.

Living in Berlin over the past year has been one of the best experiences. Building a life for myself from scratch and meeting all these amazing people has made the past year something I will never forget.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Lau's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile