Edward Allan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Edward’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 74, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • International development - semi-retired
  • B.A., UCLA; Ph.D., Univ. of London School of Oriental &am...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Hi. A friend of mine has been hosting couchsurfers for several years and has greatly enjoyed it, and I've enjoyed meeting some of his guests, so I decided to sign up myself. But I haven't had the chance to complete my profile yet. (There's more about me in the description of my "couch.")

I've been working in international development for a good many years and am now semi-retired. My major areas of interest have been education and environmental awareness, and most of my work has related to sub-Saharan Africa and the Middle East. My hobbies include -- travel (day trips and extended), photography (and SOME of my pictures don't suck), reading non-serious fiction, and enjoying coffee and pastries. Politically progressive but try not to go overboard -- I try not to take myself too seriously and am definitely NOT a "Type A" personality.

Looking forward to meeting some of you guys. I do travel a fair amount, so I'm often not available to host. I'm not sure if people can see my legacy profile; there's more about me and my interests there.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Partly "pay back" and "pay forward" -- I've enjoyed the hospitality that others have given me over the years, and want to share with others. Partly selfishness -- I enjoy meeting other people and learning about themselves and I am also very proud of where I live and want others to have the chance to spend time here.

Interests

Travel and sightseeing, reading, gardening and visiting gardens although sometimes it seems I have a brown thumb. (I plant something, it grows 2 inches (5 cm) and dies.) Recently I've taken a liking to going on cruises.

  • photography
  • education
  • coffee
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • teaching
  • sightseeing

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Benin, Burkina Faso, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Mexico, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Seychelles, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Algeria, Ethiopia, Ghana, United Kingdom, Yemen

Join Couchsurfing to see Edward’s full profile.