Egon Wong

Guangzhou, Guangdong, China

Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login 38 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Egon’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Spanish, Yue (Cantonese); learning French, Japanese, Russian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Educator
  • University Graduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me



live, love & learn

I moved to Guangzhou recently so I'm very new here. People think I'm a local because I speak Cantonese but actually I'm originally from Hong Kong. I grew up in the UK and I've lived in various parts of the world in the last few years.


I can be lazy but I am determined to pursue my dreams. I am poor in my pockets, but I'm rich in experiences. I am simple but I'm sophisticated. I am full of contradictions.
If I had to choose 3 adjectives to describe myself, they would be - Curious, Progressive and True.

I've been moving around the world since my graduation from university in 2006. My adventures have brought me to living in Colombia, Spain, China and Taiwan.

Other than my obvious passion for travelling, I'm also particularly keen on sports, nature, food, film and music.


Learning is liberating.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


To give - Having travelled quite extensively around the world, I enjoy offering my alternative vision of certain countries - their culture and people.

I'm passionate about cooking, although I can't say I cook in one particular style as my dishes reflect the food that I've had the pleasure of tasting over my past travels. The kitchen is my playground, my palet te and my orchestra.

To take - I hope to discover places I haven't been from a local's perspective whilst being able to make friends all over the world. I enjoy learning new things and listening to different ideas from other people. I LOVE asking questions so don't feel offended if I come across like an interrogator for documentaries.


2006 to 2008: London - 4 (Belgium, Switzerland and Germany)

2009 to 2010: Santiago de Compostela - 4 (Greece, Colombia, Australia, USA)

2010 to 2012: Seville - 8 (Scotland, Germany x 3, Malaysia, USA, Canada, France)

2012-2013: Beijing - 13 (France X 4, Indonesia, Portugal/Macau, China, Colombia, Bulgaria, Austria, USA, Argentina, Costa Rica, Poland...)

2013-2014: Taiwan - 9 (USA. Slovakia, Malaysia, Norway, Hong Kong, Sweden, China...)

2015: China - yet to start

Spain - 4
Portugal - 1
Israel - 2
Norway - 2
Austria - 1
Czech Republic - 1
Taiwan - 2

CS is one of the greatest concepts born on cyberspace.


Sports: Football, golf, tennis, scuba diving and snowboarding.

Languages: I love learning new languages especially coloquialisms and regional expressions. I think it's such a nice way to define cultures.

World cinema and independent films.

A wide variety of music from rock to hip hop; electronic to tango; cumbia to salsa.

The music I've been listening to recently are:
Trentemoller, Deadmau5, Pendulum, The XX, Empire of the Sun, Quantic, Bajofondo, Ojos de Brujo, Gotan Project, Orishas, Jurassic 5, Wu Tang, Jack Johnson, Coldplay, Muse, Nelly Furtado, Pinkfloyd, Radiohead, Sigur Ros, Sublime, DJ Krush, Zero 7, Tchaikovsky, Chopin, Vivaldi......

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I'm currently reading the works of Noam Chomsky, John Pilger and Ernest Hemingway.

Various documentaries

Movies: I'm a keen DVD collector and I enjoy a variety of films - mostly independent films from different countries and comedies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Diving the Blue Hole at the Red Sea.

Roadtrip through the Australian outback from Adelaide to Uluru & Alice Springs to Great Ocean Road.

Festival de Negros y Blancos in Pasto, Colombia.

Watching the mesmerising sunset in Bali.

Snowboarding in the Alps.

Seen a small proportion of the world: 42 countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good food
and much more!

***To show me you've read my profile, please include the way you say "Hello, nice to meet you!" in your native language or any other interesting language you know. ***

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Colombia, Egypt, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    15 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Egon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups