Logo orange

Juli Sikorska

Munich, Bavaria, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Juli's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 52 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German, Polish, Spanish; learning French
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • student, photographer, blogger.
  • pick one: communication, psychology,...
  • From Czestochowa, Poland; and Freising, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Take a concert shot of every favorite band of mine.

ABOUT ME

passionate photographer, frequent concert goer, sporadic blogger and liable to creative science. Currently rocking MIT.

I am 23 years old and I can't believe it, neither can anybody before seeing my date of birth on my ID. I have lived in 5 countries so far and I'd like to get a PhD. I enjoy being in university just as much as having half the year off for travelling or learning interesting stuff in internships and living in a new city for a couple of weeks. I would like to try so many things, be creative, enjoy my life.

If you ask me where I'm from, I'll say I'm from Germany, but if you ask me about my nationality, I will say I'm Polish. I don't feel like I belong to a specific country, I was born in Poland but I've lived in Germany half my life, one year in Texas, US, one semester in Spain and five amazing months in Mexico, traveled through parts of South America... and now I'm moving to Boston, MA for a few months (at least!)

Btw, I work as a freelance music journalist for radio stations and a music magazine
I also have a blog where I post my pictures from time to time.

PHILOSOPHY

Live, laugh, love.
Live outside the box.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfed a bunch of times, hosted a bit. I've met so many cool people on cs meetings abroad but have never been to one in Munich, what a shame - I'll definitely have to work on this once I get back home!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had a great time surfing couches in and outside of Germany. Mostly great ones, I guess couchsurfers are fun and interesting people (high correlation!)

Surfing
'09 London with Hannah
'09 Liverpool w/ Greta and Katie
'10 Hamburg w/ Nils and Lena
'10 Hamburg w/ JP
'11 Hamburg w/ Malina
'11 Hamburg w/ Lisa
'11 Malmö w/ Carina
'11 Copenhagen w/ Mie
'11 Cologne w/ Kilian
'11 Cracow w/ Kasia
'11 Lissabon w/ Ana
'11 Alicante w/ Alicia
'11 Valencia w/ Mario
'11 Malaga w/ Rob
'12 Barcelona w/ Tarek
'12 Barcelona w/ Alvaro
'12 Mexico City w/ Ari
'12 San Diego, CA w/ Yaron
'12 San Diego, CA w/ Meg & Caitlyn
'12 Los Angeles, CA w/ Emerald
'12 Los Angeles, CA w/ Lola
'12 Santa Barbara, CA w/ Amanda
'12 Monterey, CA w/ KG
'12 San Francisco, CA w/ Greg
'12 Yosemite (Camping) w/ Alex, Digdem, Eric, Rafael, Grace + some more
'12 Sacramento, CA w/ Kian
'12 Eugene, OR w/ Caroline
'12 Portland, OR w/ Phil
'12 Vancouver, BC w/ Christie and Ryan
'12 Victoria, BC w/ Erica and Orion
'12 Seattle, WA w/ Jeff
'12 New York, NY w/ Camille
'12 Hamburg w/Kasia
'14 Madrid w/ Maria

Hosting
'11 Christina & Ruth from Salzburg
'11 Chanel f/ Las Vegas, NV
'11 Donnie f/ Everett, WA
'11 Ari f/ Mexico City
'11 Kim f/ Victoria, BC

People I've convinced to couchsurf (with me)
Michiko, Tom, Bettina, Jonas, Joana, Alberto, Frank, Louisa, Magi, Lucas, Vero, Julia... more to come!

Interests

photography, art, good music (rock/alternative/indie), concerts & festivals, entrepreneurship, design, human computer interaction, technology, neuro sciences, new media studies, talking to people, freeletics, thairobics, snowboard...

Music, Movies & Books

Movies
500 Days of Summer, Juno, Going the Distance, 10 years, the Notebook, the Holiday... indie movies!
Breaking Bad, How I met your mother, Grey's Anatomy, 2 and a half men, Seinfeld, Big bang theory ...

Music:
changes constantly. Currently The National, James Blake, Kodaline, Calle 13, Mumford and Sons,
Florence + The Machine, Foals, Local Natives, the Smiths, Belle and Sebastian, Cafe Tacuba, Metronomy, Death Cab for Cutie, Bloc Party, Interpol, the Killers, Kings of Leon, the Kooks, Jack Johnson, Phoenix, MGMT, ...
for updates check this:
http://www.lastfm.de/user/ejana

Books:
I mostly read scientific papers on the development of new media, psychology-related stuff and photography blogs. Neither one counts as literature, I want to read some more books! recommend me something good and I'll promise to read it!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

-I learned to love traveling on high school exchange in San Antonio, Texas.
-I saw Mumford and Sons in concert and I cried.
-I ate a tequila worm and it was chewy.
-After graduating high school, my best friend and I once sat on the roof of his old car, ate chocolate cake, enjoyed a warm midsummer night, and talked about big plans for life.
-I accidentaly hitchhiked in San Diego. Twice.
-I got on the bus in Mexico City late at night and woke up at the beach the following morning.
-I drove up the Pacific Coast Highway (and took tons of pictures sitting on the passenger seat)

visited 24 states (10.6%)Create your own visited map of The World or website vertaling duits?

Teach, Learn, Share

I freaking love cooking! I'm famous for my lasagna and cinnamon cake, and I love trying new recepees. I can also offer to teach you some of the languages that I speak, and I'd like to learn some more French, Japanese or Russian.
Besides: I can teach you photography, crafts and share my favorite music.
Willing to learn: guitar, knitting, SURFING!!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Mexico, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Mexico, Poland, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Juli's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile